Alabama's Statute of Limitations for Contesting a Will

By Nichole Hoskins

Most states, including Alabama, have rules about who may contest a will and for how long after death someone is permitted to do so. The length of time you have to challenge a will after someone has died is sometimes referred to as the statute of limitations for contesting a will. Depending on the circumstances, you may have as few as six months or as many as 20 years after the death before the statute of limitations runs out.

Most states, including Alabama, have rules about who may contest a will and for how long after death someone is permitted to do so. The length of time you have to challenge a will after someone has died is sometimes referred to as the statute of limitations for contesting a will. Depending on the circumstances, you may have as few as six months or as many as 20 years after the death before the statute of limitations runs out.

Probating the Will

In Alabama, wills are considered ineffective if they are not submitted for probate within five years from the death of the person who wrote the will. This means that at the time of death, the named executor or any person named as a beneficiary in the will is authorized to present that will to the probate court of the appropriate county and open a probate proceeding to distribute the deceased's property.

Protect your loved ones by a legally binding will. Make a Will Online Now

Challenging the Will

Any interested party may challenge the validity of a will, or contest it, by filing a petition in the court where the will has been presented for probate handling. An interested party is any person who is named in the will to receive property or who, if the deceased had died without a will, has the right to inherit property under the laws of intestacy. In the petition, contesting parties must explain in writing the legal grounds under which they are challenging the credibility of the will. Common grounds for challenging a will include allegations that the will was not properly created or executed; the deceased was not of sound mind; or the deceased was under undue influence or fraud.

Time to File Petition

Once a will has been presented to the probate court, any interested person has six months from the date of submission to bring a challenge. Once that initial six-month period has expired, a will in Alabama can only be contested in specific situations. More than six months after a will has been probated, it may be contested by children and others who are considered incapacitated if they were without a legal guardian at the time the will was initially submitted to the court.

Exceptions

Minors and those who have been judged mentally incompetent who are entitled to inherit property under a will have 12 months from the appointment of a guardian to file a petition contesting the will. If no guardian is appointed, they are allowed 12 months starting from the date their disability is no longer an issue. Under no circumstances, however, may a challenge be brought more than 20 years after the will was presented to the probate court.

Protect your loved ones by a legally binding will. Make a Will Online Now
Contesting a Will in Kansas

References

Related articles

Can You Contest a Will After Probate?

The probate process officially recognizes the will as valid. It also allows the executor to follow the will's instructions under the supervision of the probate court. When probate begins, so does the window of time in which beneficiaries can contest a will. Once probate is over, the estate no longer exists and the will cannot be challenged.

Is a Will Legal if not Probated?

When you are named personal representative in a parent’s will, friends and neighbors may offer advice that you should save the fees involved because probate is not really necessary. As the court is the final authority on enforcement of the provisions under a will, however, a will that is never seen by the court would hardly be enforceable by it. Just as lay opinions vary from person to person, so do situations.

How Long Do I Have to Contest a Will in Texas?

Texas has six deadlines for contesting a will depending on the circumstances of the case, but things can be complicated by the fact that next of kin or the executor have four years from the testator’s date of death to submit his will for probate. Texas law requires that only named beneficiaries be given notice that a will is in probate. Heirs who are not mentioned in the will do not have to be notified and may not even know that the process has begun.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

The Statue of Limitations on Contesting a Will in Kentucky

Contesting a will in Kentucky requires meeting certain deadlines. In addition, different steps are involved if the ...

Can I Contest My Dad's Will?

In order to contest a will, you generally have to have "standing," or be what is known in some states as an ...

Can a Sister-In-Law Contest a Will?

A will contest is the legal procedure for challenging a will. In most states, only those having a pecuniary interest in ...

How to Break a Will or Probate

Probate is court-supervised administration of a testator's last will and testament. Upon the death of the person making ...

Browse by category