California Laws on the Interception of a Tax Refund for Child Support Arrears

By Tom Streissguth

If you have a child support order under California law, you have the right to have the order enforced through tax refund interception. Since 1993, California's Franchise Tax Board has had the authority to enforce child support orders through the interception of tax refunds due from the state as well as the Internal Revenue Service. This, along with other remedies, are available to the custodial parent if the non-custodial parent is not paying court-ordered child support or paying less than the amount ordered.

If you have a child support order under California law, you have the right to have the order enforced through tax refund interception. Since 1993, California's Franchise Tax Board has had the authority to enforce child support orders through the interception of tax refunds due from the state as well as the Internal Revenue Service. This, along with other remedies, are available to the custodial parent if the non-custodial parent is not paying court-ordered child support or paying less than the amount ordered.

Federal Tax Intercepts

Federal law permits the interception of federal tax refunds for the payment of past-due child support. When support is owed to a government agency, the past-due amount must be at least $150 and the balance delinquent for at least three months. In cases where the child support is owed to a custodial parent on behalf of a minor child, the minimum past-due amount is $500.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

State Tax Refund Intercepts

California allows the interception of state tax refunds from the Franchise Tax Board, the state income tax agency. The Department of Child Support Services, also known as DCSS, reports all child support arrearages to the FTB. When notified of an arrearage, the FTB intercepts any refunds owed to the non-custodial parent and sends the money to the State Disbursement Unit, which then pays the arrearages to the custodial parent.

Warning Notices

The non-custodial parent will receive a Pre-Offset Notice from DCSS when the child support arrearage reaches $100. These notices are mailed out annually until the case is resolved. As soon as the non-custodial parent files a tax return that is eligible for a refund, the IRS or FTB will send him a Notice of Intercept, stating the amount of the refund and amount to be intercepted. The refund reaches the state's disbursement unit six to eight weeks later. The non-custodial parent has the right to appeal this action.

Spousal Relief

If the California non-custodial parent has filed a joint tax return, but is still behind on child support payments, the entire refund is still subject to interception. However, the spouse who is not the non-custodial parent in arrears can file an Injured Spouse Claim with the IRS for a refund of her portion of the federal refund. The FTB will also consider claims from what is known in state law as the “innocent spouse.”

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Does Pennsylvania Take My Federal Tax Refund for Child Support?

References

Related articles

How to Collect Unpaid Alimony in California

A divorce case in California may include an order for spousal support, also known as alimony. Although alimony is not required by law, a judge can order it under certain circumstances; state law provides for 13 different considerations when determining the amount and duration of spousal support. As with child support, a spousal support order is legally binding on the individual payor named in the order. If alimony goes unpaid, the other spouse may exercise several enforcement options before turning to the court for more serious action, such as a contempt order.

What Are Florida Child Support Laws on Property Liens?

To ensure that children in Florida have the financial support they need, the state has several methods for enforcing child support orders, including property liens. While a parent may independently file an action with the court to enforce a child support order, state departments may also initiate enforcement actions if a parent is more than 15 days past due on support.

What Happens When You Don't Pay Child Support in Illinois?

Every child has a right to receive care and support from her parents, and this parental responsibility doesn't end simply because a relationship or marriage ends. In Illinois, a non-custodial parent must financially contribute to the upbringing of his child by providing child support to the custodial parent. If he fails to do so, the custodial parent may seek help from Illinois' Division of Child Support Services, which pursues several remedies, including wage garnishment, property liens, revocation of licenses, interception of tax refunds and criminal prosecution.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Penalties for Child Support Arrears in California

Falling behind in child support payments under a divorce order can lead to the initiation of enforcement proceedings ...

Can Connecticut Child Support Take My Tax Returns?

If a parent is behind on child support payments in Connecticut, state and federal tax refund amounts may be ...

What Is the Grace Period for Child Support?

There is no universal grace period, or set number weeks or months you can go without paying before the law begins ...

Can Alimony Be Paid Directly to the Ex-Spouse & Child Support Through Child Support Enforcement?

When couples divorce, the court may issue a divorce decree ordering a spouse to pay child support and alimony to the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED