Can You Waive the Right to an Appeal in Texas Divorce Cases?

By Teo Spengler

Enough is enough. The time comes when you prefer to walk away from a divorce rather than continue to fight, even if your lawyer says the trial judge was wrong. If you decide to stop litigating and live with a Texas divorce judgment, nothing and nobody can force you to file an appeal.

Enough is enough. The time comes when you prefer to walk away from a divorce rather than continue to fight, even if your lawyer says the trial judge was wrong. If you decide to stop litigating and live with a Texas divorce judgment, nothing and nobody can force you to file an appeal.

Texas Divorce Court

A Texas divorce proceeds in the same basic manner as a divorce in many states. It opens with the filing of a petition for divorce, continues with an answer, and terminates with a divorce decree, which is the court document officially ending the marriage and establishing the property division, support payments and child custody orders. Either spouse can file an appeal from the divorce decree within 30 days from the date it is entered.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Waiving/Forfeiting the Right to Appeal

Filing an appeal is optional, not obligatory, in Texas. You can opt not to appeal, thus effectively waiving your right to appeal. If you decide to appeal, you must do so within 30 days or you forfeit the right to appeal. To appeal, you must file a Notice of Appeal, Request for Reporter's Record, Request for Clerk's Record and the Docketing Statement. You also must pay a fee to the appellate court clerk.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Appeal a Judgment in California

References

Resources

Related articles

How to File for Divorce in Connecticut Without Any Money

Costs can pile up in a divorce. Persons often forget that even if you do not hire an attorney to help with the divorce process, the court charges fees to initiate the case, as well as at various stages of the proceedings. However, Connecticut recognizes the harm that would result if low-income couples were forced to remain married because they were unable to afford a divorce. In these instances, the court offers fee waivers that may cover all or part of your divorce court fees.

Can You Appeal a Judge's Decision in Family Court?

Family court decisions resolve many important issues related to divorce, including child custody, property and support. To ensure that judges act appropriately and apply the law correctly, every state provides a mechanism for appealing certain orders by parties to a family court case. Understanding the types of orders and errors that you can appeal will help you determine how to best proceed if you believe a judge made a mistake in your case.

What Do I Do After I File a Notice of Hearing for My Divorce in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, an uncontested divorce is available even if you have yet to sort out financial, custody and other issues. The judge terminates the marriage and sets future hearings to deal with these other issues. You must live separately from your spouse for one year before filing for divorce and either you or your spouse must be a North Carolina resident for at least six months before starting a divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Appeal Rights in a Divorce Case

When spouses do not reach agreement about the terms of their divorce, courts must decide issues for them, including ...

How to Appeal a Divorce Judgment in Oregon

The greatest downside to a hard-fought divorce battle is that you end up trusting the most precious aspects of your ...

Do I Have to Be Divorced Six Months Before I Can Get Married Again in Minnesota?

In some states, such as Texas, divorcing spouses must wait for a specified number of days after a divorce before ...

How Long Do You Have to File an Appeal for Divorce in Arizona?

If you can't reach an agreement with your spouse as to how to end your marriage, you run the risk of having a judge ...

Browse by category