Can a Wisconsin Judge Order Marriage Counseling Before Granting a Divorce?

By Tom Streissguth

The procedures for divorce in Wisconsin are similar to those of other states. One of the spouses must file an initial petition; the couple must also draw up a marital settlement agreement and attend a public hearing. State law allows only for "irretrievable breakdown" of the marriage as valid grounds for divorce. In the interest of avoiding divorce, if possible, Wisconsin also permits the presiding judge to recommend or order marriage counseling.

The procedures for divorce in Wisconsin are similar to those of other states. One of the spouses must file an initial petition; the couple must also draw up a marital settlement agreement and attend a public hearing. State law allows only for "irretrievable breakdown" of the marriage as valid grounds for divorce. In the interest of avoiding divorce, if possible, Wisconsin also permits the presiding judge to recommend or order marriage counseling.

Valid Grounds and Residency

The laws of Wisconsin permit divorce on the grounds of the marriage being "irretrievably broken," as one or both parties attest. In effect, this is a "no-fault" divorce in which the party petitioning for divorce does not have to prove a specific cause. If the spouses have lived apart for at least 12 months, the court may find the marriage "irretrievably broken" by reason of separation alone. State law requires that at least one spouse be a resident of Wisconsin for at least six months, and a resident of the county in which the divorce is filed for at least 30 days prior to filing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Hearings and Orders

Wisconsin requires a four-month "cooling-off" period after the filing of a divorce petition. At the hearing that follows, the spouses state their intention to seek a permanent legal separation and have their marital settlement reviewed by a judge. Wisconsin law permits the judge to find a reasonable chance of reconciliation and, on that basis, recommend (or order) marriage counseling for the couple seeking a divorce. The judge may adjourn the hearing and reschedule it not more than 60 days later. The judge may also order counseling if either party files a motion requesting it.

Counseling

The court will provide a list of private marriage counseling services in the surrounding region. These counselors are court-approved and set their own terms for marriage therapy, including the frequency and length of visits. If one or both spouses refuse to comply with a court order for counseling, the court can either find them in contempt or proceed with the divorce procedures. If a judge has recommended rather than ordered the counseling, failure to attend will not result in any sanctions.

Adjudication

If the couple returns to court and states under oath that the marriage remains irretrievably broken, the divorce will proceed. The court will review the marital settlement agreement, hear argument from both sides on any contested terms of the settlement, and finally grant the divorce. If children are involved, the court may set the amount of child support (for which Wisconsin law provides guidelines) as well as the rules for custody and visitation. If the divorce is amicable and the spouses agree to the terms, the entire process will take on average five or six months. If the terms of the divorce are contested, it can take up to 14 months before the trial is held.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce Procedures & Documents

References

Related articles

The Different Types of Divorce in Louisiana

Choosing to divorce your spouse is never an easy decision. But knowing how to navigate the process will help ease stress and make the transition from married to single life more manageable. In Louisiana, you have the option of filing for divorce on either no-fault or fault grounds. You may seek a divorce in the state if either you or your spouse have been living there for at least six months. If you entered into a covenant marriage in Louisiana, a few additional steps may be required to complete your divorce.

Illinois Divorce Statutes

Divorces present a unique opportunity for marital discord to be resolved by agreement. Illinois law looks favorably on couples that can mutually resolve issues related to property, support and custody. However, if one spouse blames the other for the breakdown of the marriage, or parties contest other aspects of the divorce, a judge will decide the matter.

The Waiting Period Between a Divorce Filing & a Hearing in Kansas

If you or your spouse has lived in Kansas for the previous 60 days, you are eligible to file for divorce in the state. A divorce action is commenced by completing and filing a petition for divorce with the district court in the county in which you or your spouse lives. In most cases, you must wait at least 60 days after filing before a divorce will be granted. The exact length of time it will take before you will be able to schedule a final hearing in your case will depend on the complexity of the issues involved and whether you and your spouse can agree to some or all of the terms.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to File for Divorce in Wayne County, Michigan

Michigan is one of 14 pure no-fault divorce states. This means that the only ground for divorce is an irretrievable ...

How Do I File for Divorce in Oregon?

In Oregon, divorce is called dissolution of marriage. Either spouse can file for dissolution and must do so in ...

Official Divorce Laws in the State of New Jersey

A divorce proceeds according to state law in New Jersey. Starting the process requires first meeting a residency ...

What Happens in a Divorce Mediation in Miami, Florida?

Peace is to war what mediation is to litigation. When you or your spouse files for divorce in Miami, you have the ...

Browse by category