Closing a Sole Proprietorship in Washington State

by Holly Cameron

    Sole proprietors operate their businesses alone or as part of a married couple; they assume responsibility for all business debts and liabilities. You can set up, operate and close a sole proprietorship with relatively few formalities in Washington State. Sole proprietorships close for different reasons, including ill health, economic factors, or re-structuring the business. When closing a business, you should keep copies of relevant paperwork to avoid future problems.

    File an LLC application

    Fit your business needs with the right LLC package

    http://www.legalzoom.com/limited-liability-company

    Advise Clients and Creditors

    If you decide to close your sole proprietorship, you must inform all clients, business associates and creditors, preferably in writing. To facilitate the final accounting, you should ask all creditors to submit their invoices by a named deadline. If your business operates a website, you should also post a notice announcing the imminent closure of the sole proprietorship. If you have excess inventory, you can arrange an “end of business” sale, sell the inventory to a competitor, or donate it to a local charity.

    Tax

    Sole proprietors remain responsible for all the business’s tax liabilities, even after the business closes. If you close a business in Washington State, you should inform the Department of Revenue within 10 days of closure and complete a tax return. After closure, you should keep all business records for five years. A sole proprietor should also inform the IRS of the closure, file an annual return for the final year of business and pay all relevant taxes when due.

    Business Name

    If you operate your business under a fictitious name, also known as a DBA, you should inform the Washington Business Licensing Service that you will no longer be trading under this name. If you trade under your own name, this step is unnecessary.

    Licensing

    When you start a business in Washington State, you must obtain a state business license if you sell goods to consumers, hire employees or expect to earn at least $12,000 in a year. When the business no longer operates, you should inform the Business Licensing Service and close your business license account. You can either do this online or by completing and mailing the relevant business information change form.

    Close Bank Accounts

    Although not legally necessary, most sole proprietorships run separate business and personal bank accounts. If you operate a separate business bank account, you should arrange to close this once you have paid all bills.

    About the Author

    Based in the United Kingdom, Holly Cameron has been writing law-related articles since 1997. Her writing has appeared in the "Journal of Business Law." Cameron is a qualified lawyer with a Master of Laws in European law from the University of Strathclyde.

    Photo Credits

    • Jupiterimages/Goodshoot/Getty Images