Colorado State Laws on Community Property When a Spouse Dies

By Heather Frances J.D.

When a Colorado spouse dies, his property is distributed by the terms of his will, if he has one; however, a spouse cannot completely disinherit his spouse in a will since Colorado law steps in to limit how much the deceased spouse can give away to someone else. If a spouse dies without a will, his property passes according to state law, which gives a large share to his surviving spouse.

When a Colorado spouse dies, his property is distributed by the terms of his will, if he has one; however, a spouse cannot completely disinherit his spouse in a will since Colorado law steps in to limit how much the deceased spouse can give away to someone else. If a spouse dies without a will, his property passes according to state law, which gives a large share to his surviving spouse.

Marital Property

Colorado is not a “community property” state, but it does have a category called “marital property.” In Colorado, most assets acquired during a marriage are considered marital property, which is subject to division by the courts in a divorce. The court’s ability to divide marital property if a couple divorces does not impact a spouse’s ability to give away his share of marital property to someone other than his spouse in his will. However, limitations exist as to how much a deceased spouse can leave to persons other than his surviving spouse.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More

Elective Share

If a deceased spouse attempts to disinherit his spouse in his will or leaves very little to his surviving spouse, Colorado law gives the surviving spouse a right to take up to half of the decedent’s “augmented” estate, known as the surviving spouse's “elective share,” instead of taking the share given to her in the will. The augmented estate includes the total value of the decedent's probate estate and certain nonprobate transfers to others, but does not include expenses such as funeral and administrative costs. The surviving spouse’s elective share varies, depending on the length of the marriage, from 5 percent for a one-year marriage to 50 percent for a marriage that lasted 10 years or more.

No Will

When a person dies without a will, he is said to have died “intestate,” and Colorado’s intestate succession laws determine who inherits his property when this happens. These laws attempt to pass property to close relatives Colorado law assumes the decedent would have wanted to inherit his property had he written a will; however, the law does not attempt to determine what each individual decedent would have wanted. Instead, Colorado law provides general categories that apply to every estate of a deceased person who did not leave a will.

Intestate Succession

Under intestate succession laws, the surviving spouse’s share depends on whether the deceased spouse and surviving spouse have children together, separately or not at all. For example, if the decedent has a surviving spouse but no children and no surviving parents, the surviving spouse inherits the entire estate. If the decedent has adult children from another relationship, the surviving spouse inherits the first $100,000 of the estate plus half of the remaining estate and the children inherit the other half.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More
Legal Spousal Inheritance Rights in the State of Kansas

References

Related articles

Death Without a Will in Michigan

Under Michigan law, when a person dies without a will, it is said the person died intestate. The law has rules for what happens to a person's property when a person dies without a will. These rules are necessary because there is no will to provide direction as to how the deceased wished to distribute his property. The probate court will distribute property that was not owned jointly, as well as property that did not have a named beneficiary, according to Michigan law.

The California Law When the Deceased Has No Will

If a person dies intestate, or without a will, in California, his estate is subject to California's intestacy laws. Unlike a will, which allows a person to name all those he wants to inherit from his estate, intestacy laws automatically consider his living family such as his spouse, children, parents and siblings.

Intestacy Rules in Colorado

Colorado's intestacy rules are similar to the rules found in other states but don't provide for inheritances by remote relatives, such as distant cousins. Colorado's laws allow inheritances by a birth parent who adopted out the deceased person or any birth children the deceased person put up for adoption, but only to prevent the estate from going to Colorado because of a lack of heirs. State laws set the inheritance rules for the estate of a person who died intestate; however, these rules don't take the financial needs of his heirs into consideration.

Related articles

Inheritance Laws & Marital Property in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, a married person can make a will and leave everything to his spouse, if he chooses. However, if a ...

Inheritance Laws in Alaska

In Alaska, as in other states, when a decedent doesn't make a will, his property and assets must be divided according ...

Marital Rights in Connecticut

Marriage gives spouses throughout the United States certain rights when it comes to inheritance and divorce. However, ...

The Widow's Legal Rights in South Carolina

South Carolina law provides a surviving spouse with the right to inherit from her deceased spouse's estate. An estate ...

Browse by category