Divorce & Relocation In Arizona

By Elizabeth Rayne

Depending on where you are in the divorce process, you must consider residency requirements as well as the needs of your children before relocating out of Arizona. Arizona's laws provide that you must give notice before moving with children, and the court may only allow you to relocate if doing so is in your child's best interest.

Depending on where you are in the divorce process, you must consider residency requirements as well as the needs of your children before relocating out of Arizona. Arizona's laws provide that you must give notice before moving with children, and the court may only allow you to relocate if doing so is in your child's best interest.

Residency Requirements

If you have recently relocated to Arizona, you must consider the residency requirements of the state before filing for divorce. You may only file for divorce in Arizona if either you or your spouse have lived in the state for at least 90 days prior to submitting your petition for divorce. You may file for divorce in the county where you currently live. However, if you do not have children, you are generally free to relocate after you file for divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Preliminary Injunction

After filing for divorce in Arizona, the court will issue an immediate preliminary injunction, which prohibits either spouse from interfering with marital property or relocating with the children while the divorce is pending. The only way a parent may move a child out of the county is with written permission from the other parent or permission from the court. If you move without permission, you could be found in contempt of court, which may lead to fines or imprisonment.

Post-Divorce Relocation with Children

Whether parents have joint custody or one parent has sole custody while the other parent has visitation rights, both parents must give written notice before moving out of the state or more than 100 miles. The notice must be delivered by certified mail at least 60 days prior to the move. After receiving notice, the other parent has 30 days to object to the relocation by filing an objection with the court. If an objection is filed, the court will schedule a hearing to determine whether or not the moving parent should be allowed to move with the child. While the decision is pending, the parent may temporarily move with the child, only if necessary for health, safety or job security reasons and that parent either has sole legal custody of the child or joint legal custody and is the child's primary residential parent; if both parents share legal and physical custody of the child, the parent may temporarily move with the child only with the permission of the other parent pursuant to a written agreement.

Relocation Considerations

If a parent objects to relocation, the court will consider a number of factors to determine if it is in the best interest of the child to relocate. The parent who wants to move has the burden of proving that it would be best for the child. The court will consider the reasons for moving, whether the parents can still follow the parenting plan schedule, if both parents will still have opportunities to spend time with the child, and the effects the move may have on the child's physical and mental development. The court, in its discretion, may modify the parenting schedule or custody arrangement to ensure both parents have an opportunity to spend time with the child.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
The Tennessee Joint Custody Relocation Statute

References

Related articles

Divorce Law in Virginia & Taking Minor Children Out of State

With the breakup of a marriage, it may become necessary to move the children out of state. This common issue often requires court intervention because both parents have a right to control the upbringing of their children, including where the children live. This is not to say that a reasonable request to relocate will be denied, but the parent wishing to relocate the children must satisfy the court that the move is in the child's best interests and not an attempt to alienate the children from the other parent.

California Laws on Parent Relocation

When parents share parental responsibility, the state of California prevents the custodial parent from relocating with a child without either the consent of the non-custodial parent or a court order. This restriction may make it difficult for the custodial parent to take that dream job in another state. However, the prohibition's purpose is to protect the relationship between the child and non-custodial parent by ensuring the non-custodial parent does not suddenly become unable to see his child.

Ohio Laws on Relocation & Child Custody After Divorce

Under Ohio law, a custodial parent wishing to relocate to a difference state must receive consent from the other parent or the court. As a result of this requirement, you cannot just pick up and relocate to another state with your child. There are requirements, as required by Ohio law, that you must meet before the move may occur or the court may intervene and order you and your child back to Ohio.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

What Are the Laws in Arizona Concerning Divorce & Taking Your Kids Out of State?

Arizona requires parents to file proposed parenting plans during the divorce process, and the court only rules on ...

Child Custody & Relocation Rights in Tennessee

When parents get a divorce, their custody order or parenting plan establishes each parent's rights. If a parent plans ...

Florida Divorce Laws on Moving Out of State With Children

Divorced parents rarely remain in the same houses, or even in the same state for their child’s entire childhood. ...

Michigan Child Custody Laws & Moving Restrictions

Relocation plans often result in conflict between divorced parents if one parent wants to move away with the children. ...

Browse by category