Examples of Grounds for Divorce

By Elizabeth Rayne

No matter which state you live in, you must have grounds to file for divorce. All states allow for "no-fault" divorce, meaning that neither spouse is held responsible for the marriage ending. Additionally, many states allow couples to request a divorce based on the fault, or marital misconduct, of one spouse. Depending on the state, finding one spouse at fault may affect the terms of the divorce.

No matter which state you live in, you must have grounds to file for divorce. All states allow for "no-fault" divorce, meaning that neither spouse is held responsible for the marriage ending. Additionally, many states allow couples to request a divorce based on the fault, or marital misconduct, of one spouse. Depending on the state, finding one spouse at fault may affect the terms of the divorce.

State Law Variations

Each state has its own legal requirements a couple must meet in order to file for divorce. Every state in the country now allows for "no-fault" divorce, although New York did not do so until 2010. Many states no longer allow one spouse to blame the other for divorce; as a result, these states only allow no-fault divorce. In addition to legal grounds, most states have residency requirements the couple must meet to file for divorce. Generally, at least one spouse must have lived in the state for the specified amount of time, ranging from 60 days to two years, prior to filing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

No-Fault Divorce

Although no-fault divorce does not place blame on either spouse, most states require the couple to meet certain requirements before they may use no-fault grounds. Generally, in requesting a no-fault divorce, the spouses are alleging they have "irreconcilable differences," or the marriage is "irretrievably broken." Many states require the spouses to live apart for a specified period of time before filing for divorce. The waiting period may range from 60 days to a year, depending on the laws of the state.

Fault Grounds

Many states still recognize a variety of fault grounds for divorce. Generally, in order to file for divorce based on the fault of the other spouse, you may not be at fault yourself and you must prove that the fault was the cause of the dissolution of the marriage. The specific grounds for divorce will vary by state, but generally they include adultery, cruelty, desertion or insanity. Other grounds may include imprisonment of the other spouse, bigamy, impotency, or habitual drug or alcohol use.

Effect of Fault

Depending on the laws of the state, proving that one spouse is at fault in causing the divorce may lead to a more favorable divorce settlement for the other spouse. Marital misconduct may affect property distribution, alimony, child custody or child support. However, some states do not allow marital fault to be considered in determining the terms of the divorce. Additionally, marital fault may be just one factor the court considers, in addition to the finances of each spouse and the best interests of any children of the relationship.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Why File for a Fault Based Divorce?

References

Related articles

How Long Do You Have to Be Separated to Get a Divorce in Virginia?

If your marriage is no longer working, you have the option of filing for legal separation or divorce. Unfortunately, in Virginia, these options are not described in such a straightforward manner. Instead, legal separation is known as "divorce from bed and board," while an actual divorce is called a "divorce from the bond of matrimony." Considering the similarity in terminology, it's easy to get the two confused. To ensure you meet the requirements for a divorce, particularly the length of separation required, it's important to know and understand the differences between the two.

Filing for Divorce in Virginia With Adultery & Abandonment

When spouses decide to end their marriage in Virginia, they can file for no-fault or fault divorce. A fault divorce means that one spouse committed some type of marital misconduct leading to the end of the marriage. Two grounds for a fault divorce are adultery and abandonment. Not only does such misconduct give spouses the right to divorce, it is also considered when a court divides marital property or determines whether a spouse is eligible for alimony.

California's No Fault Divorce Law

California started the no-fault divorce revolution when it passed the first no-fault divorce statute in 1969. The state is a pure no-fault state, meaning that neither spouse may place blame on the other spouse when filing for divorce. Instead, couples may divorce if the couple has "irreconcilable differences." Additionally, marital misconduct is mostly irrelevant when it comes to determining the terms of the divorce decree, including alimony, property division, child custody and support.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Desertion Penalty in a Maryland Divorce

When a relationship goes through a difficult time or reaches an end, a husband or wife may decide to leave the marital ...

The Justification for a Divorce

Every state requires that parties filing for divorce give a legally recognized reason for seeking to end the marriage. ...

Is the Absence of Sexual Relations Grounds for Divorce?

Sexual behavior outside the marriage and the lack of sexual relations within the marriage can serve as grounds for ...

Illinois Divorce on the Grounds of Abandonment

Although Illinois law no longer punishes spouses for abandonment, the state does allow divorce on the grounds of ...

Browse by category