Do I Have to File an Answer to a Complaint in a Divorce in Pennsylvania?

By Elizabeth Stock

In Pennsylvania, either spouse can file for divorce by completing a divorce complaint. The divorce complaint will state the names of both spouses and the reason for the divorce. If a spouse files a complaint for divorce, the other spouse has the option of filing a cross-complaint or answering the divorce complaint. However, whether he chooses to file an answer to the divorce complaint will depend on several factors, including whether he wishes to contest the divorce and issues raised in the divorce complaint.

In Pennsylvania, either spouse can file for divorce by completing a divorce complaint. The divorce complaint will state the names of both spouses and the reason for the divorce. If a spouse files a complaint for divorce, the other spouse has the option of filing a cross-complaint or answering the divorce complaint. However, whether he chooses to file an answer to the divorce complaint will depend on several factors, including whether he wishes to contest the divorce and issues raised in the divorce complaint.

Filing for Divorce

In Pennsylvania, the divorce complaint must be filed with a civil cover sheet. At the time of filing, the court collects a filing fee that varies depending on the county where you file the complaint. The spouse filing the divorce complaint, referred to as the plaintiff, has 30 days to serve the other spouse, the defendant, with a copy of the complaint. Service in Pennsylvania can be accomplished by personal service or through certified mail. Failure to accomplish service in Pennsylvania may result in the dismissal of the divorce complaint.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Divorce Eligibility and the Waiting Period

To file for divorce in Pennsylvania, at least one of the spouses must be a resident of Pennsylvania for at least six months prior to the filing of the divorce petition. If the spouses live in separate counties, the filing spouse should file in defendant's county of residence. If the defendant lives in another state, the plaintiff should file in her own county. An uncontested divorce requires the parties to wait 90 days before the court will grant the divorce. An uncontested divorce means that no issues exist on which the parties disagree. However, if only one spouse wants the divorce and the spouses have been living apart for at least two years, a divorce may be granted if the court determines the marriage is irretrievably broken.

Answer to Divorce Complaint

In Pennsylvania, the answer to a divorce complaint is referred to as a counterclaim. There are several reasons to file a counterclaim in a divorce proceeding. A counterclaim may raise additional issues under the Pennsylvania Divorce Code that were not included in the original complaint, like child custody or the division of particular assets. In addition, the counterclaim may respond to issues mentioned in the original divorce complaint.

Effect of Not Answering the Divorce Complaint

According to Pennsylvania law, it is not mandatory to answer a divorce complaint. However, if a spouse does not answer the divorce complaint, he cannot address any issues raised in, or excluded from, the divorce petition. The divorce may proceed anyway, but by not responding, the defendant waives representation and protection of his rights. It is often necessary for the defendant to file an answer to a divorce complaint if the spouses have not reached an agreement on the division of significant assets or child custody arrangements.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Do Your Own Divorce in Michigan

References

Related articles

Can You Get a Divorce in 30 to 31 Days in Georgia?

Filing for divorce can be hard and unpleasant, making it likely you will want your divorce finalized as soon as possible. Georgia law allows a married couple to obtain a divorce 31 days after the defendant is served with a copy of the divorce complaint under certain circumstances. Whether a divorce will be granted this quickly depends on the complexity of the divorce and whether the spouses have signed a settlement agreement.

Can Both Spouses File for Divorce?

Some lawyers will tell you that there's no legal advantage in being the first spouse to file for divorce, although depending on the details of your particular case, it may give you a strategic edge. However, if your spouse beats you to the courthouse, all isn't lost. You can file a counterclaim of your own, which is essentially a complaint in response to your spouse's filing.

A Complaint for a Divorce With Children in Michigan

A complaint establishes the initial framework in a divorce. In Michigan, parties with minor children must file a specific complaint form. The divorce process does not officially commence until one spouse delivers the paperwork to the court. Understanding what you must include in a complaint when you have minor children, as well as what happens after filing, can help you better prepare for your Michigan divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Filing No Fault Divorce in Pennsylvania

Courts used to require a spouse to prove fault, or reasons for the failure of the marriage, such as abandonment or ...

How Long Do You Have to Wait to Get a Divorce in DC?

If you want your divorce case to move quickly, you and your spouse should try to come to an agreement regarding all ...

What Forms Are Required to File for Divorce in Michigan?

Michigan has afforded spouses the opportunity to obtain a no-fault divorce since its divorce laws were revised in 1972. ...

How Many Days Does a Respondent Have in a Divorce in New York State?

Like most civil litigation, a divorce in New York state begins with the filing of a civil complaint and summons in the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED