Last Will & Testament Laws in South Carolina

By Beverly Bird

In South Carolina, wills must be in a printed format and signed by the testator, the person making the will, who must also be over 18 years of age and have the mental capacity to know what he is doing. Those younger than 18 may also make a will if they are married or otherwise emancipated from their parents by an order from family court.

In South Carolina, wills must be in a printed format and signed by the testator, the person making the will, who must also be over 18 years of age and have the mental capacity to know what he is doing. Those younger than 18 may also make a will if they are married or otherwise emancipated from their parents by an order from family court.

Witnesses

The number of witnesses to a will in South Carolina depends on the nature of the will. If the testator cannot sign her own name, then she can direct someone else to do it for her in the presence of two additional witnesses. If the testator can sign her own name, then only two witnesses are required. If one of the witnesses is a beneficiary, however, then an additional witness is necessary. Alternatively, if the beneficiary witness is a close relative, he can waive his right to his inheritance and accept instead anything he would have received if the deceased had passed away without a will.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Formats

South Carolina accepts self-proved wills. A self-proved will is one that includes a notarized statement signed by the testator and his witnesses, and attests to the validity of the will. This eliminates some steps of having the will admitted to probate later. Neither oral or handwritten wills are valid in South Carolina. The state makes no special provisions for members of the military to transfer property via an oral, or nuncupative, bequest during times of active duty. Some holographic, or handwritten, wills are accepted, however, if made in another state that accepts them.

Disinheritance

You can disinherit almost anyone in South Carolina by stating precisely in your will that this is your intention. The exception is your spouse. Surviving spouses are entitled by law to one-third of the testator’s estate after payment of debts and costs of probate. If you leave your spouse any less than this, he can elect to take the one-third portion instead up to eight months after your death or six months after your will enters probate, whichever occurs later.

Effect of Divorce

A divorce -- though not necessarily a legal separation from your spouse -- nullifies any bequests made to her in a will made prior to the divorce. An appointment as executor is also revoked. However, if you remarry that person, those portions of your will become reinstated and your spouse is once again entitled to the one-third share of your estate if your bequest to her is any less than that.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
The Legality of Wills in Different States

References

Related articles

How Is a Will Affected by Multiple Marriages?

Most American divorcees remarry within five years, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. Spouses who lose their partners to death don’t even wait that long -- the national average in 2006 was three years for men and about four-and-a-half years for women. If you never get around to adding or deleting spouses from your will, state law typically takes over and decides what will occur -- and sometimes these laws might override your final wishes.

Is a Self Made Will Legal if Notarized?

A self-made will is legal if it meets your state's requirements for wills. All states have requirements that include having at least two witnesses and signing your will yourself. Some states allow you to notarize your will to make it "self-proving," which moves it through probate faster. However, as of December 2010, only Louisiana requires a will to be notarized.

What Are the Rules for Wills in Delaware?

Like most states, Delaware requires that a person be older than 18 years of age and of sound mind to write a legally binding will. The will must be in writing; nuncupative, or oral, wills are not accepted. Wills and matters of probate are governed by the Chancery Court.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Law on the Last Will & Testament in Iowa

Iowa accepts wills made in other states and countries as long as the requirements of that state or country are met. ...

Are Holographic Wills Legal in Illinois?

The general definition of a holographic will is that it is written by hand and is not witnessed. Different states have ...

Last Will & Testament in Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s laws regarding wills are extensive and, in some ways, more innovative than those in other states. ...

California Laws Regarding Wills

California law requires that a testator, or the person making a will, be at least 18 years of age and of sound mind. ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED