What Are the Laws in Arizona Concerning Divorce & Taking Your Kids Out of State?

By Heather Frances J.D.

Arizona requires parents to file proposed parenting plans during the divorce process, and the court only rules on custody issues if parents cannot agree to a parenting plan or some aspect of it. A couple’s parenting plan can give specific guidance about how the parents intend to handle vacations and relocations. Arizona law also provides rules about relocating children when the parents are divorced.

Arizona requires parents to file proposed parenting plans during the divorce process, and the court only rules on custody issues if parents cannot agree to a parenting plan or some aspect of it. A couple’s parenting plan can give specific guidance about how the parents intend to handle vacations and relocations. Arizona law also provides rules about relocating children when the parents are divorced.

Vacation

Typically, parenting plans address vacation issues. If the parents agreed on these issues, the court incorporates these agreed-upon terms into the divorce decree. Commonly, a parenting plan or custody order contains directions for a parent who wishes to take a child out of state for a short vacation like spring break. The order may require the vacationing parent to notify the other and exchange contact information before traveling, and it may limit the number of days the child can be taken out of Arizona.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Objections to Vacation Plans

If one parent objects to the vacation plans of the other parent, he can file a petition to ask the court to intervene. For example, if the objecting parent has reason to believe the child may be in danger if the other parent takes him out of state, he could ask the court to review the case and prevent the travel. If a couple’s parenting plan does not contain any provisions for vacations, they may return to court to ask the judge to modify the parenting plan to address such issues.

Relocation Notice

Arizona law requires a parent who intends to relocate — either out of state or more than 100 miles away — to give the other parent at least 60 days notice, and the notice must be delivered by certified mail or as otherwise permitted by Arizona law. The other parent has 30 days to file an objection with the court. If the other parent objects, the relocating parent has the burden to prove to the court that the move is in the child’s best interests and is not merely an attempt to get the child away from the other parent.

Temporary Relocation

Parents who wish to relocate don’t necessarily have to wait until the court makes its decision before they can temporarily relocate the child. A parent with sole custody or primary physical custody can relocate temporarily — until the court has a chance to make its decision — if the relocation is due to the parent’s or step-parent’s health, safety or employment. If parents share substantially equal physical custody arrangements, the relocating parent can only relocate temporarily if the other parent agrees in writing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce & Relocation In Arizona

References

Related articles

Can a Judge Keep a Child From Leaving the State After a Divorce in Colorado?

Colorado law grants significant leeway to a divorced parent who wants to leave the state with the children. Under Colorado law, a parent with primary custody of minor children generally can move out of state with them. The non-custodial parent must take action to prevent the primary caretaker from leaving the state with the children. This involves filing a motion with the court seeking an order preventing removal of the children from Colorado. In many other states, an opposite process exists: the parent who wants to leave a state with the children must obtain court approval.

Laws for Moving Out of State With Shared Parental Rights in Maine

Shared parental rights is the optimum way for two parties to share custody. In Maine, shared parental rights mean that both parties have equal responsibility and decision-making power in the minor child's life. The child can live with one parent or, in a shared physical custody situation, spend time equally between two homes. Yet, what happens when one parent gets a better job in another state or gets married and needs to relocate? Maine has established rules to govern a party's relocation under a shared parental custody order.

Florida Law for Shared Custody of Minor Children

Emotions tend to run high in custody proceedings and parents often lose sight of what's best for their children. Florida has enacted several laws designed to protect the best interests of these children. Judges may consider factors such as the child's adjustment to her current environment, the parenting skills of each parent and the ability and willingness of each parent to help the child maintain a relationship with the other parent. Any history of domestic violence or child abuse weighs against the abusive parent in custody determinations. Florida favors family unity and judges frequently order some variety of shared custody. Parents can also jointly agree to a shared parenting arrangement.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

The Tennessee Joint Custody Relocation Statute

Tennessee law does not prevent a divorced parent from moving out of state, but if you have a joint custody arrangement, ...

Divorce Law in Virginia & Taking Minor Children Out of State

With the breakup of a marriage, it may become necessary to move the children out of state. This common issue often ...

Relocating With Children During a Divorce in Florida

When parents divorce in Florida, they generally need a court order for custody and visitation. Before either parent ...

Child Custody & Relocation Rights in Tennessee

When parents get a divorce, their custody order or parenting plan establishes each parent's rights. If a parent plans ...

Browse by category