Is It Legal to Get Married the Same Day You Get Divorced?

By Wayne Thomas

Moving on with your life is an important step after a marriage ends. Because divorces can take time, you may find another partner and voice your intent to marry as soon as the divorce can be finalized. However, some states restrict your ability to remarry until a specified period has passed from the date the divorce is granted.

Moving on with your life is an important step after a marriage ends. Because divorces can take time, you may find another partner and voice your intent to marry as soon as the divorce can be finalized. However, some states restrict your ability to remarry until a specified period has passed from the date the divorce is granted.

Waiting to Remarry

The divorce process is governed entirely by state law. Some states allow a couple to remarry the same day they are divorced. Other states, including Texas, require you to wait until after the period for appealing the divorce ruling is over, generally 30 days. If you get married within that period, the court can nullify the marriage. However, depending on the state, it may be possible to have this waiting period waived. This generally requires you to provide a good reason to the judge. An example might be if you had a terminal illness.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Valid Reasons for a Marriage Annulment in Texas

References

Related articles

How Long After a Divorce Can You Remarry in West Virgina?

West Virginia does not impose a waiting period after divorce before an ex-spouse can remarry. You can obtain a marriage license without establishing that you are divorced -- or divorced for any particular length of time. However, you should consider waiting at least 30 days before remarrying because your ex-spouse could file motions with the court, or appeal the divorce, so the divorce would not be final.

Basis for Annulment

Couples often mistakenly assume that an annulment is an easier, cheaper and quicker alternative to a divorce, but in fact, obtaining an annulment is generally more difficult. State laws allow annulment in only limited circumstances. Couples cannot get an annulment unless their situation fits one of their state's legal grounds, or bases, for annulment. The process and bases for annulment varies by state, but annulment generally is not based on the length of time the couple has been married.

How Long Do You Have to Live in Tennessee Before You Can Divorce Someone From Another State?

Filing for divorce can be a confusing process and you may even be uncertain regarding where you can file. If you have recently moved to Tennessee and would like to file for divorce, there are several issues to consider including the length of time you have lived in Tennessee and whether your spouse may have filed for divorce in his state of residence. However, it is possible to file for divorce in Tennessee if your spouse lives in another state.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Do I Have to Be Divorced Six Months Before I Can Get Married Again in Minnesota?

In some states, such as Texas, divorcing spouses must wait for a specified number of days after a divorce before ...

How Long Can a Divorce Be Postponed in Indiana?

For all practical purposes, Indiana is a no-fault state. Its statutes don't include the typical fault grounds of ...

How Long After a Divorce Can a Party Remarry in New Jersey?

New Jersey has no legal restrictions on how long an ex-spouse must wait to remarry after divorce. However, you should ...

Can You Get a Divorce if Your Spouse Abandons the Home and Takes the Kids?

If your spouse takes the kids and moves out, you may wish to file for divorce immediately. You can file for divorce ...

Browse by category