How to Legally Add a Middle Name to a Birth Certificate in Illinois

By Lauren Miller

If you were born in Illinois and want to add your middle name to your birth certificate, you must apply to the Division of Vital Records at the Illinois Department of Public Health for a name correction. Parents and legal guardians can also request the birth certificate change on behalf of their minor children. The state charges a fee for this service and for copies of the new birth certificate.

If you were born in Illinois and want to add your middle name to your birth certificate, you must apply to the Division of Vital Records at the Illinois Department of Public Health for a name correction. Parents and legal guardians can also request the birth certificate change on behalf of their minor children. The state charges a fee for this service and for copies of the new birth certificate.

Adult Request to Add a Middle Name

Step 1

Download the “Application for Correction of a Birth Certificate” from the Illinois Department of Public Health website, or request it from the main office in Springfield.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More

Step 2

Fill out the application for correction form. The form includes places for you to state your birth name, place and date of birth, the names of your parents and the state file number of your birth certificate.

Step 3

Attach a copy of a current government-issued photo ID to the form along with proof of your middle name such as baptismal records, school records, marriage records or an insurance policy.

Step 4

Sign the form. Attach a check with the required fee, which at the time of publication is $15. Send it to Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Vital Records, 925 East Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702-2737.

Request for Your Child

Step 1

Download the “Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request” from the Illinois Department of Public Health website, or request it from the main office in Springfield.

Step 2

Fill out the affidavit form if you are making the request on behalf of your minor child. The form includes places for you to give the details of the name change, the names of parents and legal guardians, an affirmation that the information is correct and contact information. You must sign the form and attach a copy of your own current government-issued photo ID with it.

Step 3

Attach to the affidavit proof that the child has a middle name. You can submit school records, a baptismal record, Social Security records, a court order of legal name changes, marriage records or hospital documents.

Step 4

Hire the services of a notary public and sign the affidavit form in front of them. Send the affidavit along with the required fee, which at the time of publication is $15. Send it to Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Vital Records, 925 East Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702-2737.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More
How to Change a Name After a Marriage in Illinois

References

Related articles

How to Change a Legal Name in Kansas

You can get a new name in Kansas legally by petitioning the district court in your county. You must be a resident of Kansas for at least sixty days before you're allowed to file a name change petition in the state. Kansas state law allows each district court to decide what hearing notice method is used for name change cases, so depending on where you live, you may have to send notice of the name change hearing by mail or publish a legal notice in a Kansas newspaper.

Changing a Child's Name in Ohio

The state of Ohio allows you to petition for a change of legal name for a minor child. The process involves the filing of a petition in the county court where the child resides. There are few restrictions, and the state allows the change for any reason a parent or legal guardian deems sufficient, including religious beliefs. However, Ohio law bars any name changes for fraudulent purposes.

How to Legally Change a Child's Last Name in Texas

The Texas Family Code contains the regulations that outline the conditions of changing the name of a minor in the state. Parents, legal guardians or managing conservators, who are court-appointed guardians, may request to alter a child's name for adoptions, custody proceedings and other reasons. Parents must file a petition in the county court where the child resides and pay filing fees.

Doing the right thing has never been easier.

Related articles

How to Change the Father's Name on Birth Certificates in New Hampshire

The birth of a baby is usually a time of great joy and happiness for the parents. The event also creates a birth ...

How to Legally Change a Name in Louisiana

Changing your name in Louisiana is a fairly straightforward civil process. District courts in the state’s 40 ...

How to Change a Middle Name on an Alabama Birth Certificate

A birth certificate is a fundamental identification document, and the name on a birth certificate normally reflects the ...

How to Change a Name on a Louisiana Birth Certificate

A certified copy of your birth certificate serves as proof of your identity and is needed when completing such tasks as ...

Browse by category