How Long After a Divorce Can a Party Remarry in New Jersey?

By Jimmy Verner

New Jersey has no legal restrictions on how long an ex-spouse must wait to remarry after divorce. However, you should consider waiting at least 45 days after your divorce to remarry. If you do not wait that long before remarriage, and your ex-spouse files motions with the court or appeals the divorce case, you are still considered married because your divorce isn't final.

New Jersey has no legal restrictions on how long an ex-spouse must wait to remarry after divorce. However, you should consider waiting at least 45 days after your divorce to remarry. If you do not wait that long before remarriage, and your ex-spouse files motions with the court or appeals the divorce case, you are still considered married because your divorce isn't final.

Divorce Decree May Not Be Final for 45 Days

A New Jersey divorce decree, even though signed by the judge, does not become final until the clerk of court enters the judgment by making a notation in the civil docket, or in other words, creating the official record of the case. Either party to the divorce may file post-judgment motions before the judgment becomes final, or appeal the judgment, within 45 days of entry of the judgment. A person who rushes to remarry after divorce could find that because his divorce is not final, his new "marriage" is void. If a person wants to remarry quickly after divorce, he should consider waiting at least 45 days after entry of the divorce decree to make sure the divorce is final.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How Long After a Divorce Can You Remarry in West Virgina?

References

Related articles

Is It Legal to Get Married the Same Day You Get Divorced?

Moving on with your life is an important step after a marriage ends. Because divorces can take time, you may find another partner and voice your intent to marry as soon as the divorce can be finalized. However, some states restrict your ability to remarry until a specified period has passed from the date the divorce is granted.

Can a Divorce Waiting Period Be Waived?

Most people who file for divorce want a court to grant the divorce as soon as possible. However, some states have waiting periods that bar a court from granting a divorce until a statutory number of days has passed. In some states, this waiting period can be waived in some circumstances.

What Does "Enter a Decree" Mean for a Divorce?

A divorce decree states the terms of a divorce. The court approves the terms for the divorce based on a divorce settlement agreement or court-ordered resolutions. The court can enter a divorce decree relatively soon in an uncontested divorce where parties agree to the terms of the divorce. Or, the court can enter a final decree based on the final disposition of the case, after the judge resolves disputes between parties, over property division and child custody. Once the judge orders a divorce decree, a court clerk enters the court order in the legal record and issues a copy of the divorce decree to each party.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Tennessee Divorce Laws: How Soon After Divorce Can You Remarry?

Sometimes a divorcing spouse is anxious to finish the divorce because he wants to remarry. Technically, Tennessee law ...

Do I Have to Be Divorced Six Months Before I Can Get Married Again in Minnesota?

In some states, such as Texas, divorcing spouses must wait for a specified number of days after a divorce before ...

How Soon Can You Remarry After a Divorce in Massachusetts?

When one or both spouses come to the realization that a divorce is necessary, the last thing either party wants is a ...

How Long Does a Divorce Take in Colorado?

Divorcing couples are often eager to move on with their life. In Colorado, the length of time it can take to get ...

Browse by category