The divorce process in Oklahoma generally moves much faster when couples can reach common ground. This is referred to as an "uncontested" divorce, which occurs where the divorcing couple can reach an agreement on the major divorce issues, including property division, spousal support and child custody and support. However, no matter how amicable the divorce is, certain mandatory waiting periods apply under state law.
Once a couple files all the appropriate paperwork for an uncontested divorce in Oklahoma, the mandatory waiting period starts. This period is 10 days if you have no children. If you have children, the waiting period is extended to 90 days, unless you and your spouse waive this additional time in writing. After the time period has passed, the amount of time it will take for your uncontested divorce to become final depends largely on how crowded the court docket is -- and when the judge can schedule a hearing to sign off on the divorce.
References & Resources
- Comstock/Stockbyte/Getty Images