How Long Can a Divorce Be Postponed in Indiana?

By Beverly Bird

For all practical purposes, Indiana is a no-fault state. Its statutes don't include the typical fault grounds of adultery, abandonment or cruelty. If you file for divorce in this state, your only options are to use the no-fault grounds and tell the court your marriage is irretrievably broken, or your spouse is impotent, insane or convicted of a felony. If you file on grounds of irretrievable breakdown, your spouse can't stop the divorce without your consent. Under some circumstances, however, you or your spouse may be able to postpone the proceedings for a little while.

For all practical purposes, Indiana is a no-fault state. Its statutes don't include the typical fault grounds of adultery, abandonment or cruelty. If you file for divorce in this state, your only options are to use the no-fault grounds and tell the court your marriage is irretrievably broken, or your spouse is impotent, insane or convicted of a felony. If you file on grounds of irretrievable breakdown, your spouse can't stop the divorce without your consent. Under some circumstances, however, you or your spouse may be able to postpone the proceedings for a little while.

Waiting Period

Indiana has a statutory waiting period for divorce: 60 days from the date you file your petition. This doesn't mean your divorce automatically becomes final in two months, however. It just means you can't be legally divorced until at least two months have passed, even if all your issues have been resolved. You can use this built-in time period to slow down your divorce if you're not sure you want to go through with it. You can wait at least two months to officially ask the court to postpone your case or start moving forward with the proceedings.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Attempting Reconciliation

If you and your spouse want to attempt a reconciliation, or if your spouse denies your marriage is irretrievably broken, either of you can ask the court to order a continuance of the proceedings to give you time to go for counseling. If the judge agrees, he'll postpone your matter for 45 days. After this period of time, if one of you still wants the divorce, you can file a motion, asking the court to grant it. This doesn’t necessarily mean that your divorce will be final immediately, especially if the 60-day waiting period hasn't passed. However, it will clear the way for the divorce to move forward. If neither of you files such a motion, the court will dismiss your divorce entirely after another 45 days, or 90 days from the date the continuance was granted.

Time to Prepare

You might be sure you want to move forward with the divorce, but preparing your case is taking longer than you anticipated. Maybe your spouse isn't cooperating with discovery – the exchange of information necessary to document the financial details of your marriage. Maybe you need a little more time to get your home appraised or have a custody evaluation completed. If the court has already scheduled a hearing, you can file a motion for a continuance. You can ask the court to delay the hearing for a period of time, explaining why you need a postponement and requesting a new date. However, there's no guarantee the judge will grant your request, or how much additional time he might give you even if he approves the postponement.

Active Military Duty

If you or your spouse is on active duty with the military, federal law takes care of a postponement for you. The Servicemembers' Civil Relief Act allows the military spouse to request a stay or postponement of the divorce proceedings for the entire time he's on active duty and up to 60 days afterward. This allows the servicemember to concentrate on serving his country without worrying about a divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Get a Divorce When One Spouse Won't Agree

References

Related articles

How to Put My Divorce on Hold

Courts don’t want you to divorce, and most state laws are set up to allow you time to make sure a divorce is what you want, even after you file. Although procedures vary from state to state, if you file for divorce, then have second thoughts, you usually have several options to slow things down or bring the divorce to a stop entirely.

Types of Pleadings in a Divorce

Like any legal matter, divorces can generate reams of paperwork. It can be a bit overwhelming, especially when terminology and requirements vary from state to state. The good news is that most states follow similar guidelines for pleadings. The bad news is that individual states sometimes call the same pleadings by different names.

How to Restart the Divorce Process in Michigan With Kids

You can either pause or stop your divorce action in Michigan if you change your mind about moving forward. If you submit a Notice of Reconciliation to the Friend of the Court -- an administrative branch of the Michigan family court system -- the court will put your proceedings on hold for a period of time. You can either resume your divorce within that time and pick up where you left off or file an Order of Dismissal instead, terminating the proceedings. If you do the latter, how you may restart your divorce depends on how long you wait to do so.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Reasons to Request a Continuance on a Divorce Hearing in Texas

In Texas, the divorce process can require several hearings. When any one of them is scheduled, you might find that ...

Can You Refuse to Give Your Spouse a Divorce in Georgia?

Your spouse may file for divorce, believing the marriage is over, but even if you aren’t ready to divorce just ...

What Do You Tell the Court if You & Your Spouse Don't Want a Divorce Anymore?

When you take legal steps to end your marriage, you invite the court into your personal life. However, all states ...

How Long Does Divorce Take in Michigan if You Have No Children?

Establishing custody and support for a minor child can be a time-consuming aspect of the divorce process. These matters ...

Browse by category