How Much Money Does It Cost to Change a Name?

By Tom Streissguth

To legally change your name, you must file a petition in the court of the county where you reside. The clerk will require identification, and schedule a hearing in front of a judge or magistrate. Each court has its own filing requirements and procedure, although all bar a name change for the purpose of fraud or evasion of the police. All will require a filing fee and additional costs according to these requirements.

To legally change your name, you must file a petition in the court of the county where you reside. The clerk will require identification, and schedule a hearing in front of a judge or magistrate. Each court has its own filing requirements and procedure, although all bar a name change for the purpose of fraud or evasion of the police. All will require a filing fee and additional costs according to these requirements.

Filing Fees

Each court has a schedule of fees for filing a civil petition, such as that for a change of legal name. These fees are various and changeable; some are set by state law, while others vary from one county court to the next. Throughout the state of Utah, for example, the fee is $360 for a name change petition, while in Maricopa County, Arizona, the fee is $301, but in King County, Washington, the fee is only $150. You can determine the amount of fee by going to the website of the appropriate court, or by simply contacting the clerk's office.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More

Additional Court Costs

The fee usually includes standard charges such as administrative costs, document fees and taxes, clerk's fees, copying costs and "recording" costs, which are charged to enter the name change order into the public record. If you need to file additional documents in the case, such as motions or affidavits, there may be additional filing fees.

Attorney Fees

By state laws, you have the right to change your own name; however, if you are filing a name change for a minor, the other parent or a legal guardian may object. In such a contested case, a hearing and litigation will be necessary -- and you may need the services of an attorney to ensure a successful outcome. Attorneys charge either flat fees or hourly rates, which can run several hundred dollars per hour for their work on the case. If you object to the time, paperwork and red tape necessary for a simple name-change petition, you may contact a legal-services company that can complete the forms necessary; these firms charge reasonable flat fees for the service in addition to court costs.

Certified Copies

After the hearing on your name-change petition, the presiding judge or magistrate will sign an order. The clerk will enter this order into the record, and will also make available certified copies, for which an additional fee will be due. You should provide a certified copy of this order to Social Security and to the bureau of records in the city or county of your birth, which will attach the name-change order to your original birth certificate. Private companies with whom you have business dealings may also require notification, but usually don't require certified copies.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More
Steps to Legally Change Your Name

References

Related articles

How to Change a Name in Bexar County, Texas

Residents of Bexar County, Texas, who want to legally change their name for reasons other than a marriage or a divorce, must obtain permission from a civil court judge to do so. State laws, rather than local county laws, dictate whether you are eligible to change your name, but you must initiate your civil suit by filing documents with the Bexar County District Clerk. It’s beneficial to familiarize yourself with the county's specific procedures to avoid unnecessary delays.

What Would Hold Up an Uncontested Divorce?

Uncontested divorces range from simple cases without children and marital assets to complicated cases with custody issues and property division. If the uncontested divorce qualifies as a simplified divorce or for a summary judgment, it usually can be expedited. However, a lengthy marriage with dependent children and a large estate often presents complicated issues. Court rules vary from state to state based on the type of uncontested divorce. Some states require a couple to submit joint petitions with settlement agreements attached and attend family mediation. Any unresolved issues can cause a rejection of the documents or delay in the court proceedings.

What Does It Cost to Set Up an LLC in the State of Illinois?

Setting up an LLC or limited liability company in Illinois includes both mandatory and optional costs. The mandatory costs are primarily in the form of governmental fees that must be paid to file the required state forms to legally create an LLC. Optional costs generally include fees for professional services, such as for an attorney or accountant, or service fees charged by a private company that assists with filing the state-required LLC forms.

Doing the right thing has never been easier.

Related articles

How Much Does it Cost to File Divorce Papers?

Fees and other costs are inevitably part of divorce. The fees vary by each state and county court; in addition, legal ...

Procedure to Change an Adult's Name in Georgia

Georgia residents can change their legal name with a petition filed in their local superior court. State law also ...

Changing a Child's Name in Ohio

The state of Ohio allows you to petition for a change of legal name for a minor child. The process involves the filing ...

How to Legally Change a Name Without Cost

The first step of legally changing your name may be only the tip of the iceberg cost-wise. Rules and procedures vary ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED