Name Change Requirements in the State of Illinois

By Heather Frances J.D.

In Illinois, you can change your name when getting married or divorced, but you can also change your name for other reasons. If you want to change your name outside of a marriage or divorce procedure, or you want to change the name of a minor child, you’ll have to go to court and complete paperwork and notification requirements before the name change can be finalized.

In Illinois, you can change your name when getting married or divorced, but you can also change your name for other reasons. If you want to change your name outside of a marriage or divorce procedure, or you want to change the name of a minor child, you’ll have to go to court and complete paperwork and notification requirements before the name change can be finalized.

Marriage

When you marry, you can change your name without going through a court process; your marriage certificate provides proof of your legal name change. If you later divorce, you can request that your maiden name be restored as part of your divorce proceedings or up to 30 days after your divorce decree is filed. Typically, you can request a name change when you file your initial divorce petition. The final divorce decree or other court order serves as proof of your name change.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More

Name Change Petition

If you have lived in your county in Illinois for at least six months, you can ask the court to change your name by filing a Petition for Change of Name and paying the court filing fee. Your petition must include your current name, the name you want to assume, and a certification that you have never been convicted of a felony or that your felony sentence has been completed for at least 10 years. Procedures can vary slightly between courts, and you may be required to file multiple copies of your petition.

Notice of Publication

When you file your petition, the court gives you a court date that you must include in your Notice of Publication. This notice must run in a newspaper where you live for at least three consecutive weeks, on at least one day each week, after you file your petition. Notice must first be published at least six weeks and a day before your hearing date. If you wait too long to publish your notice or do not publish it properly, the court cannot grant your name change until you fix the problem. The notice is intended to let the public know you are changing your name.

Order of Name Change

After you publish the notice as required, the newspaper mails you a certification to document the publication. You must present this certificate to the court, typically on your hearing date. At the hearing, the judge may ask you questions about the name change, or the clerk may simply take your paperwork to the judge. If all of the paperwork is in order, the court will issue an order for name change, or decree of name change, to officially approve your new name. The decree or order serves as proof of your legal name change, and you can begin using your new name at that time.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More
How to Stop Using the Husband's Name After a Divorce in Utah

References

Related articles

Legal Name Changes in Texas After a Divorce

If you changed your name when you married, you get to choose whether or not you want to change your name back when you divorce. Though this process is typically completed during the divorce, Texas also allows you to change your name outside the divorce process. Thus, if you don't change your name, but reconsider after your divorce and decide that you do want to change your name, you can follow the court process to change it.

How to Legally Change a Name in New Mexico

Legally changing your name in New Mexico is a straightforward and simple process. You need only be 14 years of age to change your name in the state, even without a parent’s permission. The process involves several steps, but none of them are particularly challenging.

How to Change Your Last Name in Illinois

Changing your last name due to marriage or divorce is relatively simple in Illinois: you need only present your marriage or divorce certificate to the authorities that issued your identity documents in your old name, and obtain replacement documents reflecting your new name. Changing your last name for other reasons is a bit more complex, but is still quite manageable: you will have to complete several forms and pay filing fees and petition a court for a name change order.

Doing the right thing has never been easier.

Related articles

How to Change Your Legal Name in New Jersey

Some people are lucky enough to love the name they are given at birth. But if you aren't one of them, a name change may ...

How to Change Your Name if a Marriage Certificate Does Not Have Your Married Name

Most people who change their name when they marry change their name on their marriage license, which makes the ...

How to Change a Legal Name in Oregon

You can change your legal name in Oregon for various reasons, as long as you're not doing so to commit fraud or hide ...

How to Change Your Name to Your Maiden Name Post Divorce in New Mexico

The state of New Mexico allows you to legally change your name back to your maiden name, even if you didn't request the ...

Browse by category