Forming a limited liability company (LLC) in Utah requires filing forms with the state’s Division of Corporations & Commercial Code. The Utah Revised Limited Liability Company Act permits one or more persons to establish an LLC in the state. All forms needed to create an LLC in Utah are available on the state’s website.
Fit your business needs with the right LLC package
Choosing a Name
Choose a name for your LLC. The state requires that the name contain the words “Limited Liability Company” or “Limited Company” or the abbreviations “L.C.” or “L.L.C.” The name cannot include the terms “association,” “corporation,” “incorporated,” “limited partnership,” “limited,” “L.P.,” or “Ltd.,” according to Section 48-2c-106 of the Utah Revised Limited Liability Company Act.
Search for the name in the state’s business search database to make sure that it is not in use by another business. The name of your LLC must be unique and not the same as another company in the state.
Reserve the name of your LLC with the state by filling out the “Application for Reservation of Business Name” PDF form if you do not plan on filing your LLC paperwork right away. A reservation keeps someone else from using the name you chose for your company. Reservations are valid for 120 days. The fee to reserve a name is $22 as of 2010.
Mail, hand deliver or fax the form to the state government. The address is Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code, P.O. Box 146705, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705. The fax number is 801-530-6438.
Filing and Licenses
Read the guide sheet “Information on Filing Articles of Organization for a Limited Liability Company” available on the state’s website. It contains a list of all of the information you need to fill out the “Articles of Organization” form to register an LLC. Required information includes the name and purpose of the company; the name and street address of the registered agent; the name of the organizer who is filing the documents; and a statement indicating whether the LLC will be managed by managers or managed by members.
Register online via the Utah OneStop Online Business Registration System or print out a PDF of the “Articles of Organization” for mailing, fax or hand delivery. Each method of registration requires the same exact information. If you submit the articles online, your LLC will be registered within 24 hours. The filing fee is $70 as of 2010. Expedited filing is available for $75 if you mail, fax or submit the articles in person.
Mail, hand deliver or fax the form to the state government if you choose not to register online. The address is Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code, P.O. Box 146705, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705. The fax number is 801-530-6438. Fax registrations must include a cover sheet with your credit card information in order to pay the filing fee.
Obtain any business permits or licenses required to legally run your business in Utah. The federal government site Business.gov has a free database of permits and licenses for all states.