State of Nebraska Legal Rights for Spousal Abandonment

By Jim Thomas

Being abandoned by a spouse is a horrible emotional blow, and often a financial blow as well, especially if you have children. If you are a spouse who has been abandoned in the state of Nebraska, you have the right to end your marriage without having to prove abandonment in court. You also have the right to legally separate. You have the right to seek alimony and child support as well. Nebraska is a no-fault divorce state. Generally speaking, a no-fault divorce in Nebraska only requires the parties to state the marriage is "irretrievably broken" and reconciliation efforts have failed before a divorce is granted.

Being abandoned by a spouse is a horrible emotional blow, and often a financial blow as well, especially if you have children. If you are a spouse who has been abandoned in the state of Nebraska, you have the right to end your marriage without having to prove abandonment in court. You also have the right to legally separate. You have the right to seek alimony and child support as well. Nebraska is a no-fault divorce state. Generally speaking, a no-fault divorce in Nebraska only requires the parties to state the marriage is "irretrievably broken" and reconciliation efforts have failed before a divorce is granted.

Abandonment Statute

Nebraska makes abandonment of a child a Class I misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $1,000, a jail sentence up to one year or both. Abandonment of a spouse is defined as a "person who abandons and neglects or refuses to maintain or provide for his or her spouse or his or her child or dependent stepchild, whether such child is born in or out of wedlock." A child is defined as an individual under the age of 16. The neglect or abandonment must be for a period of at least three consecutive months.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Divorce

If you are abandoned, one of your legal rights is to file for divorce. Since Nebraska is a no-fault divorce state, you simply have to file a petition stating your marriage is "irretrievably broken." There is a 60-day waiting period to encourage reconciliation before the divorce is granted. If your spouse doesn't object to the divorce, it will be granted and, if he can't be located, you just have to serve legal notice at his last known place of residence.

Legal Separation

Sometimes an abandoned spouse wants the legal benefits offered by a divorce without a formal dissolution of the marriage. Often, it is out of religious conviction or to retain medical coverage under a family insurance policy. Nebraska law allows legal separations and these are designed to resolve the same issues as a divorce, including support for the abandoned spouse and children and a separation of marital assets.

Financial Issues

Financial support for you and your children will be resolved by the court in a legal separation or divorce proceeding. You can come to an agreement with the spouse who has abandoned you, or the court will resolve these issues. Financial support depends on a number of factors, such as the duration of the marriage, history of contributions to the marriage by you and your spouse, and ability of the abandoned spouse to work without harming the interests of any minor children.

Criminal Complaint

Since abandonment of a spouse or child is a crime in Nebraska, an abandoned spouse is free to file a criminal complaint with the local or state police department. In situations where the other spouse can't be easily located, involvement by the police improves the chances of tracking him or her down, which can be particularly important if you are seeking alimony or child support.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Separation Rights and Abandonment in Vermont

References

Related articles

What Constitutes Abandonment Legally in Ohio?

In Ohio, either spouse can file for divorce based on a no-fault reason for the marriage coming to an end, such as incompatibility or irreconcilable differences. If one spouse protests, however, the party seeking the divorce must prove the other at fault for the breakdown of the marriage. Abandonment is one acceptable reason for divorce in Ohio, but its legal definition is broader than the literal sense of the word and may extend to other areas of domestic law.

Can You Get Divorced in Georgia if You Were Married in South Carolina?

Where you get a divorce doesn't depend on where you got married. It depends on where you live at the time you file. The state where you file must have jurisdiction over your matter to grant you a divorce, and this is legally achieved if you live there. You can also usually file in the state where your spouse resides.

How to Get a Divorce If You Are an Inmate in a State Prison in Georgia

Divorce is the legal recognition that your marriage has ended. If you or your spouse is an inmate in a state prison in Georgia, either one of you can still file for divorce. However, to file for divorce in Georgia, you must follow the proper procedure including meeting the state’s residency requirements, filing a divorce complaint with the appropriate court, and serving the other spouse with a copy of the divorce complaint.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

About Child Support Agreements

Child support agreements provide for the well-being and care of children under the age of majority in the state where ...

The Annulment of Marriage Due to Abandonment

Abandonment by a husband or wife often causes emotional, financial and legal stress. The abandoned spouse may want to ...

How to Divorce if Your Spouse Abandons the Relationship in Washington

Spousal abandonment can be a difficult experience for the husband or wife left behind. An abandoned spouse might choose ...

Types of Divorce in South Dakota

When spouses decide to end their marriage, one or both of them must file for divorce. To be eligible to file for ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED