How to Stop Divorce Proceedings in California in the First 30 Days

By John Stevens J.D.

Married couples often reconcile their differences once a divorce has been filed. To stop the divorce process within the first 30 days, the spouse who filed for divorce should inform the court there is no need to continue with the divorce process. To do so, the spouse who filed for divorce, called the petitioner, can file a request for dismissal with the court. Only the petitioner can file this form, as the other spouse cannot stop the process. However, if the other spouse has already filed his response, he must agree to stop the divorce and also sign off on the paperwork.

Married couples often reconcile their differences once a divorce has been filed. To stop the divorce process within the first 30 days, the spouse who filed for divorce should inform the court there is no need to continue with the divorce process. To do so, the spouse who filed for divorce, called the petitioner, can file a request for dismissal with the court. Only the petitioner can file this form, as the other spouse cannot stop the process. However, if the other spouse has already filed his response, he must agree to stop the divorce and also sign off on the paperwork.

Step 1

Visit the court clerk’s office in the courthouse where you filed for divorce and ask for one copy of a “Request for Dismissal” form. The form is designated by the number CIV-110 and is free of charge. This is a state form that you must use.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 2

Fill out the requested information in the caption at the top of the form. This is the same information you included on page one of your divorce petition. Use your petition as a guide.

Step 3

Check the “Family Law” box that appears below the caption.

Step 4

Check the box next to the “Without prejudice” option located at a(2) under paragraph 1.

Step 5

Check the box next to the “Petition” option located at b(2) under paragraph 1.

Step 6

Enter the date, print your name and sign where indicated in the fields located below paragraph 2.

Step 7

Check the “PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY” box that appears below your printed name.

Step 8

Check the “Plaintiff/Petition” box that appears below your signed name.

Step 9

Make one photocopy of your completed form.

Step 10

Deliver the two copies of your form to the court clerk. The clerk will stamp both copies and return one to you. The returned copy is for your records. There is no fee for filing this form.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Amend a Divorce Petition in California

References

Resources

Related articles

What Materials Are Needed for Passport Name Change After Divorce?

Your U.S. passport must be in your current, legal name. If you changed your legal name after your divorce, you need to change your name on your passport to travel outside of the country. The application procedure and supporting materials required for a passport name change differ, depending on whether your passport was issued less than one year ago.

How to Change Name of an LLC in California

In California, the main document needed to form a limited liability company is called the articles of organization. If you change the name of your LLC, you must notify the state by filing an amendment to the articles of organization within 30 days of the change. The required form for making an amendment to LLC filings is available online.

How to File for Divorce Through the State of Utah

To end your marriage in Utah, you can obtain a divorce from a Utah court, and this process begins when you file your divorce paperwork at your local court. You can create your own divorce papers, hire an attorney to draft them for you or use an online legal documentation service to prepare your paperwork.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to Stop a Divorce After the Papers Have Been Filed

If you’re not the spouse who filed for divorce, you probably can’t stop the process. You can contest the ...

How to File for a Divorce Even When the Other Spouse Does Not Want to Sign the Papers

Only under one circumstance would you need your spouse to sign papers so you can get your divorce. You need her ...

How to Complete a North Carolina Divorce Petition

The opening step of the divorce process varies by name in different jurisdictions. In some states, you must file a ...

How Do I Vacate a Divorce Pleading?

A spouse vacates a divorce pleading by filing a Motion to Dismiss Without Prejudice any time before the court issues ...

Browse by category