Types of Divorce in South Dakota

By Bernadette A. Safrath

When spouses decide to end their marriage, one or both of them must file for divorce. To be eligible to file for divorce in South Dakota, the filing spouse, called the Plaintiff, must be a resident of the state. The divorce petition must be filed in the Plaintiff's county of residence, unless the Defendant, the other spouse, also resides in South Dakota, in which case the petition may be filed in the Defendant's county of residence.

When spouses decide to end their marriage, one or both of them must file for divorce. To be eligible to file for divorce in South Dakota, the filing spouse, called the Plaintiff, must be a resident of the state. The divorce petition must be filed in the Plaintiff's county of residence, unless the Defendant, the other spouse, also resides in South Dakota, in which case the petition may be filed in the Defendant's county of residence.

No Fault Divorce

No-fault divorce means that neither spouse committed any misconduct that lead to the end of the marriage. In South Dakota, the no-fault ground for divorce is called "irreconcilable differences." This means that the spouses have become incompatible and no amount of time or therapy will repair the damage to the marriage. Either spouse can file for a no-fault divorce by submitting a Complaint for Divorce to the Circuit Court located in his county of residence.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Simplified Divorce

Generally, when spouses file for a no-fault divorce, they can take advantage of South Dakota's simplified divorce procedure. They must agree to file jointly, under the no-fault ground of irreconcilable differences. Each spouse must submit an affidavit stating that he or she is a resident of South Dakota and that the reason for the divorce is one of irreconcilable differences. There is a 60-day waiting period until the divorce is granted and a court appearance is not required. A judge will sign the divorce decree after the 60-day waiting period elapses.

Fault Divorce

South Dakota is one of several states that still recognize divorce for fault. This means that a spouse has committed some act of misconduct, or that an incident occurred, which to a breakdown in the marriage. The aggrieved spouse can file the Complaint for Divorce, which must be served on the opposing spouse, and which gives him notice of the divorce.

Grounds for Divorce

There are several fault grounds for divorce available in South Dakota. First, if one spouse commits adultery, the other spouse can file for divorce. South Dakota law defines adultery is actual sexual intercourse with a person who is not one's spouse. Another fault ground for divorce is called abandonment or "willful desertion." This means that one spouse voluntarily left the marital residence for a period of at least one year with the intent not to return. The one-year time period also applies for a spouse seeking a divorce because of the other spouse's "habitual intemperance," which is defined as excessive use of alcohol. A spouse may also file for divorce in South Dakota after the other spouse is convicted of a felony. Last, "extreme cruelty" is also a ground for fault divorce. Extreme cruelty is defined as "grievous" bodily or mental injury inflicted on one spouse by the other during the marriage.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Filing for Divorce in Virginia With Adultery & Abandonment

Related articles

The Justification for a Divorce

Every state requires that parties filing for divorce give a legally recognized reason for seeking to end the marriage. These are called grounds, which can be categorized as either fault or no-fault. A few states offer only no-fault grounds, while others recognize both types. Each state has its own set of grounds for divorce, although they are often quite similar. No matter what, grounds for divorce must be proven before the court will grant you and your spouse a final judgment of divorce.

What Constitutes Abandonment Legally in Ohio?

In Ohio, either spouse can file for divorce based on a no-fault reason for the marriage coming to an end, such as incompatibility or irreconcilable differences. If one spouse protests, however, the party seeking the divorce must prove the other at fault for the breakdown of the marriage. Abandonment is one acceptable reason for divorce in Ohio, but its legal definition is broader than the literal sense of the word and may extend to other areas of domestic law.

Can You Divorce Your Wife for Not Consumating the Marriage?

In many states, the refusal of spouses to engage in sexual relations with their husband or wife may help establish grounds for divorce on claims such as desertion or abandonment. Other states require parties to a "no-fault" divorce, where neither spouse blames the other for the dissolution of the marriage, to refrain from sexual intercourse for a period of time before the divorce can become final.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Divorce Rules for Tennessee

Divorce laws are in place in each state to ensure you get what you are entitled to when you end your marriage. In ...

Abandonment Laws in a Florida Divorce

Florida law provides that a court may grant a divorce request if the marriage is “irretrievably broken.” ...

Grounds for Divorce in Tennessee

From attempted murder to refusal to move to the state, the law in Tennessee allows couples to claim some unique grounds ...

Do You Get an Automatic Divorce if a Spouse Is Incarcerated in Virginia?

While the state of Virginia does not provide an automatic divorce from an incarcerated spouse, the state provides two ...

Browse by category