Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

By Mary Jane Freeman

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

Filing for Divorce

To file for divorce in Arkansas, you must be a resident of the state for at least 60 days before you submit your petition for divorce. On the petition, you must tell the court your grounds, or reasons, for divorce. Arkansas recognizes several grounds for divorce. The two most commonly cited grounds are general indignities and living separate and apart for at least 18 months. After the application is filed and the other spouse is served with divorce papers, the divorce case begins. Spouses are free to reach an agreement on marital issues such as property division, alimony and child custody. If they are unable to agree, however, the court will decide these matters for them and issue a divorce decree.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Waiting Period for Final Divorce Decree

Arkansas, like many other states, imposes a waiting period before issuing divorce decrees. Spouses must wait 30 days from the date the divorce petition is filed before an Arkansas court will issue a divorce decree. In many cases, divorces take much longer than 30 days to complete, especially if spouses disagree on marital issues. However, even if the divorce is uncontested and all issues are resolved in less than 30 days, the court will not issue a divorce decree until the 31st day.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Length of Divorce Proceedings

References

Related articles

How to Contest an Uncontested Divorce in Mississippi

When spouses not only agree to be divorced, but also on the reason for the divorce and terms of the divorce, they can file an uncontested divorce. An uncontested divorce is typically cheaper and quicker than a contested divorce, which is one in which the spouses dispute some or all of the issues of the divorce. However, Mississippi law is strict when it comes to divorce and, depending on the circumstances, a spouse can prevent the completion of a no-fault divorce by contesting it.

How to Apply for a Divorce in Washington State

When a Washington marriage doesn’t work out, the couple can receive a divorce, or dissolution, from a Washington court. Couples can file for divorce together or separately, and Washington courts can grant the divorce whether or not both spouses agree on all terms. However, the divorce process is typically shorter if the spouses agree on the major terms of their divorce and file together.

How Long After a Separation Can You Obtain a Divorce?

If your state accepts separation as grounds for divorce, this is one of the easiest grounds on which to file, because it is usually indisputable. In most cases, one spouse stays in the marital residence and the other moves elsewhere. You don’t have to go to excessive lengths to prove your spouse guilty of any particular misconduct. However, you can’t separate and file for divorce a week later. All states require that you remain separated for a while before you can file.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How Long Does it Take to Complete a Divorce?

Trying to figure out how long it might take you to become divorced is like gauging how long it will take you to mow ...

What Is the Next Step in Arizona After Your Divorce Is in the Court for 60 Days?

Divorce doesn't happen overnight, but some states permit it to happen quicker than others. Arizona’s waiting ...

How Long After a Divorce Can You Remarry in West Virgina?

West Virginia does not impose a waiting period after divorce before an ex-spouse can remarry. You can obtain a marriage ...

When Does a Divorce Become Final in Arizona?

Once you decide to file for divorce in Arizona, the amount of time the process takes depends heavily on whether your ...

Browse by category