Wills in Georgia

By Beverly Bird

In Georgia, you can make a legal will at a younger age than anywhere else in the country -- the state’s statutes require that you only be 14 years of age or older. However, if a will is prepared not according to law, it is not accepted as valid and the estate is treated as though the testator, or the person who left it, did not have a will at all.

In Georgia, you can make a legal will at a younger age than anywhere else in the country -- the state’s statutes require that you only be 14 years of age or older. However, if a will is prepared not according to law, it is not accepted as valid and the estate is treated as though the testator, or the person who left it, did not have a will at all.

Format

Georgia only accepts wills in printed formats. Handwritten wills are not legal, with or without witnesses. The will must be signed by the testator and at least two impartial witnesses. If a testator cannot sign her own name, she can simply make a mark, or someone else may do it for her as long as it is not one of the witnesses. Georgia’s statutes for the signing of will include a “line of sight” rule. The witnesses must have a clear view of the testator’s hand making her signature, or of another individual doing it for her.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Beneficiaries

If a witness to a will is a beneficiary under its terms, he loses any inheritance or bequest he might have received unless there is a third, impartial witness. If he doesn’t forfeit his inheritance and there are not two additional witnesses who are not beneficiaries, the entire will may be invalidated.

Spouses’ Rights

Georgia is the only state in the country that allows you to disinherit your spouse. The state does not have an elective share law entitling her to a portion of your estate if you omit her from your will. The only protection that Georgia affords surviving spouses is a limited allowance from the estate for living expenses while the estate settles.

Proof of Authenticity

Georgia accepts and encourages self-proved wills. For a will to be self-proved, it must include a separate document signed by the testator, her witnesses, and a notary public. The document attests to the will’s validity and that it met all Georgia’s requirements when it was signed. When a will is not self-proved, at least one of the witnesses may be called upon to give testimony to the court when the testator passes away. At a minimum, a witness must complete a document called Interrogatories to Witness to Will that asks questions about the signing and requires an oath that all the answers given are true.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Is a Self Made Will Legal if Notarized?

References

Related articles

Rights & Responsibilities of the Surviving Spouse in Georgia

When a person dies, her surviving spouse may be responsible for the probate of the decedent's estate if she named him executor in her will. If she died without a will, a Georgia court must appoint an administrator for probate, often the decedent's surviving spouse. Regardless of the surviving spouse's responsibilities, he has certain rights to the decedent's estate under Georgia law.

Are Holographic Wills Legal in Illinois?

The general definition of a holographic will is that it is written by hand and is not witnessed. Different states have varying requirements for accepting these, and some do not accept them at all. In Illinois, the legality of a holographic will depends not on the handwriting but on the witnesses.

Do I Need an Attorney to Make a Legal Will?

In most states, a legal or valid will must contain certain basic information, such as the testator's or will-maker's name, the date the will was made, the testator's signature and the signatures of two witnesses in some cases. An attorney's help is not required to make a valid will. Nevertheless, it is wise to consider consulting an attorney when you make your will, especially if you have minor children, considerable investments or other assets, or family strife that may affect how your property is distributed after you die.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Is a Notarized Will Legal in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts law has specific requirements for what makes a will legal in the state. These requirements include who ...

What Is the Act or Process of Proving the Validity of a Will?

Before a court can probate a will, it must determine that the will is valid and authentic. Although laws vary from ...

California Laws Regarding Wills

California law requires that a testator, or the person making a will, be at least 18 years of age and of sound mind. ...

Is it Legal to Handwrite a Will in Minnesota if You Get it Notarized?

A handwritten will may also be known as a holographic or olographic will. Some states recognize a handwritten will as ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED