Wills in Maine

By Beverly Bird

Maine’s statutes regarding wills are on par with other states. You must be of sound mind and at least 18 years old to make a will in the state, and your signature requires two witnesses. Maine allows your witnesses to also be beneficiaries. Self-proved wills are accepted and eligible for simplified probate proceedings after your death. To self-prove your will, you and your witnesses must sign a second sworn statement indicating that it is authentic, and attach the statement to the will.

Maine’s statutes regarding wills are on par with other states. You must be of sound mind and at least 18 years old to make a will in the state, and your signature requires two witnesses. Maine allows your witnesses to also be beneficiaries. Self-proved wills are accepted and eligible for simplified probate proceedings after your death. To self-prove your will, you and your witnesses must sign a second sworn statement indicating that it is authentic, and attach the statement to the will.

Exceptions

If you are unable to sign your will, a third person in addition to your witnesses can sign it for you, as long as you verbally indicate that you are asking them to do so. Holographic, or handwritten, wills do not require witnesses in Maine if both your signature and the body of the will are in your handwriting. Nuncupative, or oral, wills are not legal in Maine.

Protect your loved ones by a legally binding will. Make a Will Online Now

Revocation

You can revoke your will by destroying it or have someone else do it in your presence. You can also revoke it by making a new will that specifically annuls the old one, either entirely or specific portions. Maine’s statutes will also declare portions of your will void if you are divorced after you make it. Section 2-507 of Title 18A of Maine’s Revised Statutes automatically revoke any part of it pertaining to your spouse, whether a bequest or appointment as executor, when you receive your final divorce decree, unless you state in your will that you don't want this to occur. A formal or legal separation does not have the same effect.

Provisions for Spouses

You cannot disinherit your spouse in Maine. If you were married at the time you made your will, she is entitled to one-third of your augmented or total estate, including the value of non-probate assets such as life insurance policies with named beneficiaries and real estate owned with another individual with rights of survivorship. If you omit her from your will or leave her less than one-third of the value of your assets, she can file a claim with your estate up to nine months after your death or six months after your will enters probate, whichever comes later. If you married after you made your will, she is entitled to whatever she would have received if you had died without one, which could be your entire estate if you have no children and your parents are deceased. Maine grants registered domestic partners the same rights as spouses.

Provisions for Children

If you neglect to include one of your children in your will, the court will award him a share of your estate equal to what he would have received if you had died without a will. Exceptions are if you intentionally disinherit him and state this in your will, or if you leave the bulk of your estate to his other parent. If you have established a trust for the child to provide for him, it supersedes this provision, as well.

Protect your loved ones by a legally binding will. Make a Will Online Now
Mississippi Law for Writing a Will

References

Related articles

Wills in Ohio

You can make a will in Ohio if you are older than 18 years of age, though there are exceptions for minors who marry before the age of 18. You must also be of sound mind and have an understanding of what you are doing. Ohio accepts wills in a variety of formats.

California Laws Regarding Wills

California law requires that a testator, or the person making a will, be at least 18 years of age and of sound mind. The statutes regarding mental competency to make a will are more extensive than those in most states. Under California Probate Code Section 6100, the testator must remember and understand his relationship with his beneficiaries and his bequests to him. He cannot suffer from any mental disorder resulting in delusions or hallucinations if his will contains unexpected bequests, and there are other criteria, as well.

DIY Wills in Pennsylvania

A will allows you to direct what happens after your death, especially how your property will be distributed. You can even nominate a guardian for your children or set up a trust in your will. There are several ways to prepare a will in Pennsylvania, including completing a template form or using will-making software. You can also hire an attorney or use an online legal documentation service to prepare a will for you that meets Pennsylvania’s legal requirements.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Wills in New Jersey

New Jersey is more flexible than some states in its laws covering wills and estates. Anyone at least 18 years of age ...

North Carolina Laws Regarding Wills

Every state has its own specific statutes when it comes to wills. A will that doesn’t comply with North ...

Wills in Oregon

Each state has unique laws governing estates and wills. In Oregon, you can disinherit anyone except your spouse. If you ...

State Laws on Wills

While all states have their own legislation regarding wills, the laws tend to be similar in most jurisdictions. For ...

Browse by category