Alimony Laws in Kansas

By Bernadette A. Safrath

Alimony, also called spousal support, may be awarded during a divorce proceeding in Kansas. Alimony is paid by one spouse to the other when the receiving spouse has neither a sufficient income nor sufficient assets to be self-supporting when the marriage ends. The Kansas Revised Statutes set forth the types of alimony available, duration of payments and when alimony can be modified or terminated.


There are several different types of alimony available in Kansas. The court will determine which type a spouse is eligible for. General support is awarded when one spouse earns significantly more money than the other. Reimbursement support is ordered to pay back one spouse if that spouse provided significant financial contributions to the household while the other spouse pursued an education. Finally, transitional support is awarded temporarily if the requesting spouse needs to complete training or education before obtaining employment with a sufficient income. Regardless of the type of alimony a court awards, the paying spouse is entitled to deduct any payments from his income for tax purposes while the receiving spouse is required to claim the payments as income.

Amount and Duration

Alimony is very rarely awarded permanently in Kansas and only in very long-term marriages. A court may award permanent alimony when the requesting spouse can no longer work or did not work during the marriage and has not been in the workforce for a long time. Generally, alimony payments are temporary. The court considers several factors when setting the amount and duration. The court considers each spouse's income and the value of each spouse's assets. The strongest factor is the length of the marriage because the court uses a formula based on it to determine the duration of the alimony award, not to exceed 121 months. For example, Johnson County established the following support guidelines: For marriages between zero and five years, alimony is usually awarded for half the length of the marriage. For marriages longer than five years, the alimony period is two years plus one-third of the length of the marriage, up to 121 months.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More


Once a court order for spousal support is issued, the owing spouse is required to make all payments. If any payments are missed, the receiving spouse can seek a judgment from a Kansas court. When a judgment is issued, the delinquent spouse's paychecks can be garnished, liens placed on any real estate and any funds in bank accounts seized.

Modification and Termination

A Kansas court can modify a spousal support order if the spouse who owes support experiences a "substantial change in circumstances" that affects his ability to pay. Such circumstances can include a decrease in income or loss of employment. The receiving spouse may request an increase in support if a change in circumstances has caused an increase in financial need. However, the court cannot increase spousal support payments without the paying spouse's permission. Additionally, the obligation to make payments may terminate before the date set by the court in limited circumstances. If either spouse dies, spousal support terminates. If the spouse receiving support gets remarried, she loses the right to any further spousal support.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Alimony Laws in Kentucky


Related articles

Divorce Laws on Alimony in the State of Maine

If your marriage ends, you may ask the court for alimony, or spousal support, as part of your Maine divorce decree, but alimony is not automatically awarded. Unlike child support, there is no calculation method for alimony. So, your divorce judge has wide discretion when deciding whether to award alimony and, if so, how much to award.

Missouri Alimony Maintenance Laws

Alimony, called spousal maintenance in Missouri, is financial support provided by one spouse to another after a divorce or separation. The purpose is to provide for the receiving spouse's basic needs if she cannot support herself through her own income and assets. Maintenance payments are limited in duration and can be court ordered or agreed to between the spouses.

How to Determine Alimony in SC

To prepare for a divorce, it is important for both parties to have an understanding of the factors a court will consider in determining whether to award alimony and the types and amounts to request. In South Carolina, the length of the marriage, the existence of any marital misconduct, the parties' earning capacity, and the physical and mental health of both parties will be considered in determining the length, type and amount of an order for alimony.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Alimony Laws in Tennessee

Alimony is a monetary award paid to the financially weaker spouse after a divorce. Tennessee courts can award one of ...

Wyoming Laws on Alimony

Alimony, or spousal support, is money paid by a party to a former spouse. Wyoming, like all states, has a specific set ...

Will He Still Have to Pay Alimony With a No Fault Divorce in Pennsylvania?

When spouses file for divorce in Pennsylvania, a financially weaker spouse may be entitled to alimony. Pennsylvania ...

How Long Do You Have to Be Married to Receive Spousal Support?

Spousal support, or alimony, refers to the payments made to one spouse by the other during a separation of after a ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED