Alimony Laws in Tennessee

By Bernadette A. Safrath

Alimony is a monetary award paid to the financially weaker spouse after a divorce. Tennessee courts can award one of several types of alimony available, based on a number of factors that generally include duration of marriage, age and mental health of the receiving spouse, and education and potential need for training for the receiving spouse. The type of alimony awarded is based on the spouses' circumstances, and the court may award more than one type of alimony, where appropriate. The law also dictates when alimony can be modified, as well as when the obligation to pay terminates.

Lump Sum Alimony

Lump sum alimony, which is also called alimony in solido, is often awarded to a spouse to compensate for uneven property distribution. It is a form of long-term support and set by the divorce decree. It may be awarded when certain marital assets cannot be physically divided or if a spouse prefers to retain ownership of an asset and pay the award instead. The court will calculate the total amount of the lump sum award; however, the court may permit the owing spouse to pay the amount in installments, if necessary.

Rehabilitative Alimony

For shorter term marriages, a Tennessee court may award rehabilitative alimony. Rehabilitative alimony is designed to provide financial support to a spouse who may need education or training before reentering the workforce. For example, if the wife did not complete college because she had a child or got a job to help her husband pay for his education, the court may award rehabilitative alimony to enable her to complete her education.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Transitional Alimony

Transitional alimony may be awarded when a Tennessee court finds that a spouse is not eligible for rehabilitative alimony, but the spouse still needs assistance for a short time to adjust to the "economic consequences" of divorce. It is designed to provide temporary financial support to a spouse who can be self-supporting but who needs time to get accustomed to a single-income household.

Alimony in Futuro

When there is a major disproportion in the value of the spouses' assets (when one spouse owns significant separate property or will continue to earn more money), the court may award alimony in futuro. Also called periodic alimony, this type of award is long-term and generally lasts until a spouse's death. Alimony in futuro is generally awarded after a long marriage, at least 20 years in duration, when it is unlikely that the receiving spouse will be able to maintain employment and become self-supporting.


Tennessee courts must consider a list of factors when determining the amount and duration of an alimony award. The most important factors are the receiving spouse's financial need and the owing spouse's ability to pay while still meeting his own needs. Other factors considered include the spouses' age and health, length of the marriage, value of each spouse's assets after the division of property, ability of the receiving spouse to maintain employment and become self-supporting, and the fault of either spouse in ending the marriage, such as in abandonment, abuse or adultery, for example.

Modification and Termination

If the alimony order permits modification, either spouse can request it. The court will modify the order if the requesting spouse demonstrates a "material change in circumstances." This usually includes an increase or decrease in either spouse's income, but this has also been expanded to include the receiving spouse living with and receiving support from another person -- regardless of gender. An alimony order will generally terminate on the date set by the court. However, early termination occurs when either spouse dies or if the spouse receiving alimony remarries.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Will He Still Have to Pay Alimony With a No Fault Divorce in Pennsylvania?


Related articles

Minnesota Spousal Maintenance Laws

When spouses divorce, one spouse may be eligible for "spousal maintenance." This is money you receive from your ex-spouse upon divorce if you are unable to support yourself with your income and assets alone. The Minnesota Statutes set forth the procedure courts use to determine who may receive maintenance and the amount of the maintenance award.

How to Figure Alimony Payments in Iowa

After divorce, one spouse is sometimes left without financial resources to support herself, but alimony -- sometimes called spousal support -- can help. An Iowa court can award alimony to either spouse based on certain statutory factors. However, unlike child support, it is not awarded according to a formula or percentage of the other spouse’s income.

Washington State Alimony Laws

Washington state law sets forth the procedure for dividing property and awarding alimony when spouses divorce or a domestic partnership dissolves. Alimony, also called spousal support or maintenance, is a monetary award paid by one spouse to the other after marital property has been divided by the court.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Alimony Laws in Kentucky

Alimony, called "maintenance" in Kentucky, may be awarded to one spouse during a dissolution of marriage proceeding. ...

Alimony Laws in Kansas

Alimony, also called spousal support, may be awarded during a divorce proceeding in Kansas. Alimony is paid by one ...

Wyoming Laws on Alimony

Alimony, or spousal support, is money paid by a party to a former spouse. Wyoming, like all states, has a specific set ...

In Georgia, What Determines Alimony?

Alimony in Georgia is also referred to as spousal support. Georgia courts do not automatically award spousal support -- ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED