In Arizona, What Happens After the Waiting Period in Your Divorce?

By Beverly Bird

Many states, including Arizona, have built time periods into their divorce legislation, during which a case cannot move forward. In Arizona, this waiting period is 60 days, and it allows spouses time to reconsider before their divorce is finalized. Under the best of circumstances, the soonest you can be divorced in this state is 61 days after you have your spouse served with your paperwork.

Divorce by Default

What happens after Arizona's 60-day waiting period depends on the specifics of your divorce. When you serve your spouse with a copy of your papers, he has 20 days within which to file a response. If he doesn't do so, you can ask the court to grant you a divorce by default. Your divorce will be granted – but not until the 60-day waiting period has run out.

Uncontested Divorce

An uncontested divorce is one in which you and your spouse have ironed out every detail, including property, debts, custody and support. You're ending your marriage by consent, and the court doesn't have to make any rulings. You can submit your signed settlement agreement during the 60-day waiting period, and the judge will sign off on it shortly after the waiting period expires.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Contested Divorces

If your divorce is contested, Arizona's waiting period won't have much of an effect on the proceedings. You're headed for a trial so the court can decide your outstanding issues, and this will probably take much longer than 60 days. After the waiting period, you must let the court know that you don't have a comprehensive settlement agreement, and then request a trial date.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How Long Would a Divorce Take in Tennessee?

References

Related articles

What is a Consent Decree of Dissolution of Marriage?

Divorce does not have to be a battleground. State courts generally do everything they can to help spouses avoid ugly litigation. In 2010, New York become the final state to recognize no-fault divorce so blame for the demise of a marriage no longer has to be an issue. All jurisdictions encourage spouses to try to resolve their marriage on their own terms before a court will rule on their divorce, also called a dissolution. If spouses can accomplish this, they can divorce by consenting to terms that resolve all marital issues. The result is a consent decree.

The Time Limit on Final Divorce Documents in California

California law includes a waiting period for divorce. You might be very sure that you want to end your marriage, but enough spouses have changed their minds that the state makes you think about it for six months before it grants a final judgment. Therefore, you can’t be divorced in less than six months. Most divorces take longer because it’s difficult to complete all the necessary legal steps in that short period of time.

How to Probate a Will in Texas

Depending on the county where a testator, or the person who wrote the will, lived at the time of his death, Texas courts sometimes require that the executor of the will must be represented by an attorney. The Statutory Probate Court oversees the process if the testator lived in a metropolitan area; in rural areas, the Constitutional County Court presides over probate. The probate process can be simple or complex depending on the size and nature of the estate.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Can a Divorce Be Stopped in Florida If the Papers Have Been Filed?

In Florida, a divorce is known as a dissolution of marriage. So long as the dissolution decree has not yet been issued ...

How Long Does an Uncontested Divorce Take?

Uncontested divorce is an often misunderstood concept of law. By definition, it simply means that you and your spouse ...

Can You Write Your Own Divorce and Just Have It Notorized in the State of Pennsylvania?

Most states -- including Pennsylvania -- go out of their way to allow spouses to divorce according to their own terms. ...

How Long Does It Take to Get a Divorce in Missouri?

The duration of a divorce almost always depends on how much you want to fight. If you and your spouse agree on how to ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED