How to Block a Motion to Transfer a Divorce Proceeding in Minnesota

By Mary Jane Freeman

The time leading up to filing for divorce is often fraught with anxiety, nervousness, uncertainty and an overwhelming desire to "get it over with." Once you file your divorce paperwork with the court, the last thing you want to do is start all over again, especially with a different courthouse located elsewhere. If your spouse files a motion to have your divorce proceedings transferred to a different location, you don't have go along with the change. In Minnesota, you can fight the request by challenging your spouse's motion in court.

Filing for Divorce

You may file for dissolution of marriage in Minnesota if either you or your spouse have lived in the state for at least 180 days immediately prior to filing. Once residency is established, spouses typically file for divorce in the county where they live, known as the "venue." Typically, this is a straightforward decision because divorcing spouses often live in the same county. However, if you and your spouse live in separate counties, you have the option of filing for divorce in either county of residence. However, keep in mind that, under Minnesota law, divorce proceedings usually remain in the county where the petition was originally filed, even if neither of you continues to live there.

Motion to Change Venue

Once you file for divorce, your spouse may petition the court for a change of venue in an attempt to have the divorce proceedings changed to a different location. When this happens, he must notify you of the request by serving you with a copy of the transfer motion. Once you receive it, you must respond to the motion appropriately and appear at the court hearing, where the court will hear arguments for and against changing the divorce proceeding to a different location.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

When Transfer Is Proper

Minnesota courts will change the venue of a divorce case under limited circumstances. Under Minnesota law, the court may transfer venue if both spouses consent to the change, if an impartial hearing cannot be had in the county where the petition was filed or if a transfer is necessary for the parties' convenience or to promote justice in the case. As the party requesting the transfer, your spouse has the burden of proving why the transfer is necessary. For example, he could argue the divorce was filed in the wrong county; therefore, the court lacks jurisdiction over the case. Or he could argue that the location is inconvenient because he has custody of the children and lives more than 100 miles away, making travel back and forth difficult and disruptive to the children's schedules.

What Happens Next

As the party who filed for divorce, as long as you filed your divorce petition in the appropriate county, you can argue that venue is proper according to Minnesota law. As a result, the divorce should be proceed in the venue where it was originally filed. However, if your spouse is successful in persuading the court to change the venue, you are not required to pay a new filing fee to the new courthouse when the case is transferred.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File a Petition to Have Divorce Moved to Another County in Florida

References

Related articles

How to Change an Uncontested Divorce to a Contested Divorce in California

Divorces in California fall under one of two categories: contested and uncontested. In an uncontested divorce, the husband and wife are not fighting over any issues. A contested divorce, on the other hand, may have one or more sticking points that require discussion, mediation or a decision from the judge. Sometimes, these disagreements become apparent once a party has already filed for an uncontested divorce with the court. California permits either party to change an uncontested divorce to a contested one.

Can You Restart a Divorce Case?

Some states allow uncertain spouses to push the pause button in the middle of a divorce, effectively halting the action. If you decide to proceed with a paused case, you simply notify the court. Even if you terminate the case by filing a dismissal, you can still restart the divorce in some states by filing a petition to reinstate.

Can a Person Ask for a Continuance Without a Lawyer During a Divorce Hearing in Virginia Law?

Rescheduling a divorce hearing can provide you with more time to prepare your case. In Virginia, a request to reschedule is referred to as a motion for continuance, which may be done in person at the scheduled hearing, regardless of whether or not you are represented by an attorney.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to Get a Transfer of Venue in a Divorce in Alabama

Divorce is always difficult, but especially so if you have to travel across the state to present your case. Many ...

Florida Divorce Law for Change of Venue

Florida's laws of civil procedure address change of venue. These laws pertain to civil cases, including divorce cases. ...

How to Legally Change Your Name in Arizona?

In Arizona it is a fairly simple process to change your name. If you do not like the name you were born with, or you ...

How to Move a Divorce Case From One County to Another in Illinois

An Illinois divorce proceeding may be held in a county other than where you live. As a result, you may want to shift ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED