California Child Name Change Laws

By Jim Thomas

There may be a number of reasons for changing your child's name. Perhaps your youngster is adopted by a stepparent when you remarry. Or you decide to revert to your maiden name after a divorce and want your child's name to match. California law delineates the process for name changes, which is a fairly easy procedure. You begin by filing an application in the county where your child lives.

Parental Agreement

If both parents agree to a name change for a child under 18, you apply to the appropriate county court by filing a Petition for a Change of Name. As the California Courts website explains, it's then a simple matter to publish a legally required notice in a newspaper -- the court will give you instructions for doing so. If you file for a name change by yourself, you must notify the other parent. If there is no objection from the other parent, the court will grant the requested name change.

Contested Name Change

After you file your application, the court will give you a court date for a hearing. As of the date of publication, the date of the hearing was about 6 to 12 weeks after filing. If you filed the application by yourself, you must give notice to the other parent at least 30 days before the hearing. If the other parent opposes the name change, the judge at the hearing will determine if changing your child's name is in his best interest. An older child's wishes will be factored into the judge's decision.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More

After Approval

If the court approves your child's name change, buy enough certified copies of the official document from the court. The document, which is called the Decree Changing Name, will enable you to change documents like your child's Social Security card, birth certificate, passport, school records and immigration records. If your child is of driving age, use a certified copy of the Decree Changing Name at the DMV to change the name on his driver's license. Changing a Social Security card can be done at a local Social Security office.

Considerations

If you are changing your name and your child's name due to domestic violence, the court system can help keep your new name confidential. By registering with the Safe Home program, your new name and your child's new name will not appear on court records. You can ask a local domestic violence center, family law facilitator or the victim services unit in the local district attorney's office for assistance with the registration process.

Get help changing your legal name. Learn More
Name Change Requirements in the State of Illinois
 

References

Related articles

How to Change Your Baby's Last Name in Illinois

Illinois allows you to change a baby's name as long as you're the baby's parent, have custody of the baby and have lived in Illinois for at least six months. The court must find that the change of name is beneficial for the child and will consider the wishes of both parents. If both parents consent to changing the baby's name, the process is relatively simple and handled through the Illinois Circuit County Court of the baby's residence.

Laws Regarding Children's Names After a Divorce in Oregon

After a divorce, you may want to change your child's name. In Oregon, the procedure for changing a child's name can be found in section 33.420 of the state's statutes. In the 21st century, a growing number of courts have abandoned the historical tradition of allowing a father to insist a child retain his name. A mother may change her child's name if it is in the best interests of the child. However, a divorce in and of itself is not sufficient to establish that a name change is in the best interests of the child.

How to Get a DBA in Virginia

A DBA, short for "doing business as," is known as a fictitious name in Virginia. Using a fictitious name allows you to operate your business using something other than your given name. For example, if you'd rather call your grocery store "Family Friendly Foods" than use your name, you must register "Family Friendly Foods" as a fictitious name. Virginia law makes it a misdemeanor punishable by fines and up to a year in jail if you use a fictitious name without registering.

Doing the right thing has never been easier.

Related articles

Family Law on Name Change in Illinois

To file for a change of name in Illinois, you must submit a petition to the circuit court in your county and make an ...

How to Legally Change Your Name in Arizona?

In Arizona it is a fairly simple process to change your name. If you do not like the name you were born with, or you ...

How to Change a Baby's Last Name Legally

Changing your baby's name is typically a simple process if both parents agree to the new name. Exact state requirements ...

How to Legally Change a Child's Last Name in Texas

The Texas Family Code contains the regulations that outline the conditions of changing the name of a minor in the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED