California Divorce Laws for Personal Injury Award

By Wayne Thomas

Every divorce presents unique issues to be resolved by agreement of the parties or by the court. In California, money damage awards related to personal injuries are subject to special rules and treatment by judges. Although most types of property acquired during the marriage are divided evenly between spouses upon divorce, personal injury awards are almost always awarded in full to the injured spouse. However, a judge does have discretion to award up to 50 percent of the damages to the non-injured spouse if justice requires.

Classifying Property

California is a community property state. This means that a judge is required to divide all marital property evenly between spouses. Marital property, known as community property, generally includes all property acquired during the marriage, but does not include property bequeathed to one spouse individually by inheritance or gift. Property not considered community property is referred to as separate property and is not subject to division.

Timing of the Action

In California, personal injury awards payable to one spouse are generally considered community property if the cause of action arose during the marriage. However, personal injury awards are considered separate property if the cause of action arose while the spouses were living separate and apart or after a judgment of dissolution of marriage.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Special Considerations

Although personal injury awards based on a cause of action arising during the marriage are considered community property, judges are not required to divide the award evenly between spouses. Special rules apply in these instances and a judge has the discretion to take into account the economic conditions and specific needs of the parties. Thus, a portion of the award could go to the non-injured spouse, if justice requires, or wholly to the injured spouse.

Practical Application

Despite judges having discretion over how to distribute a personal injury award in California, more often than not the award is granted to the injured spouse in its entirety. In fact, California courts have interpreted the law regarding personal injury awards as an exception to the community property rule. While damages of this type are technically considered community property, they are to be treated as separate property upon divorce and divided between spouses only in extreme cases of injustice. Even in such instances, a judge is not allowed to award more than 50 percent of damages to the non-injured spouse.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
What Happens to Lawsuit Money in a Divorce?
 

References

Related articles

If a Party to a Divorce in California Violates a Court Order: Can They Be Held Accountable?

California courts, like the courts in all states, have the power to issue orders to the parties in a lawsuit, including parties to a divorce. Willful violation of a court order is an offense known as “contempt of court.” California courts may issue various orders with respect to a divorce proceeding, including orders compelling all parties to comply with the court’s previous directives.

New Hampshire's Marriage & Eviction Laws

Marriage and eviction laws in New Hampshire collide when a wife or husband wants to evict the other spouse, either during a marriage or when the couple is in divorce proceedings. In general, states, including New Hampshire, do not require one spouse to leave if the other files for divorce. However, abuse by a spouse can result in eviction in the form of restraining orders from the court that can be temporary or permanent.

How to Calculate Alimony in New Hampshire

The marriage relationship is supportive in nature. For that reason, courts in New Hampshire are sensitive to the needs of both spouses after divorce, and have the authority to order one spouse to pay financial support to the other for a specific period of time or indefinitely. This is known as alimony. Although there is no set formula for determining alimony in New Hampshire, there are certain factors a court considers when awarding or modifying it.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Divorce Law for Pensions & Percentages in Alabama

When Alabama spouses divorce, they must divide their property — or allow the court to decide how it should be divided. ...

North Carolina Statutes on Marital Misconduct

Marital misconduct is unacceptable behavior committed by a spouse during a marriage in North Carolina. A spouse may use ...

Legal Actions for Adultery

The penalties for committing adultery vary widely from state to state. In California, adultery is not even a ground for ...

Tennessee Divorce Law Concerning Inheritance

Tennessee law requires an equitable division of property between two parties in a divorce. However, Tennessee law does ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED