Can Child Support Be Deducted From Two Jobs?

By Heather Frances J.D.

Parents have a legal obligation to provide financial support for their children, even when the parents divorce. Your divorce decree likely contains an order directing the non-custodial parent to pay a certain amount each month in child support, usually deducted from that individual's paycheck. In some cases, child support payments may be deducted from two jobs.

Parents have a legal obligation to provide financial support for their children, even when the parents divorce. Your divorce decree likely contains an order directing the non-custodial parent to pay a certain amount each month in child support, usually deducted from that individual's paycheck. In some cases, child support payments may be deducted from two jobs.

Income Withholding

In most cases, state law requires that child support orders contain an income withholding order requiring that child support payments be deducted directly from your paycheck. If your state allows parents to waive the income withholding order, the judge might not include it if you and your ex-spouse agree to waive it. Even if you both agree initially, however, your former spouse can ask the court or your state’s child support enforcement agency to issue an income withholding order at any time, and your ex-spouse is likely to request the order if you have not paid your support on time.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Employer Responsibility

Your employer is responsible for complying with your income withholding order, and your state may send him a notice directing that child support be withheld. Your employer cannot fire you because of the extra paperwork he must complete to comply with your order. Your employer must also comply with the Consumer Credit Protection Act limits on how much of your wages can be withheld.

Consumer Credit Protection Act

The Consumer Credit Protection Act limits are based on percentages of your disposable income, meaning the money you take home after federal, state, local and Social Security taxes are deducted. Your employer cannot deduct more than 50 percent of your disposable income if you have a second family and you are current with your child support payments. However, if your support is at least 12 weeks past due, that maximum deduction amount increases to 55 percent. If one of your employers cannot withhold enough of your earnings to completely pay your required child support, a second employer may withhold the remaining amount, but the total withheld should not exceed the amount stated in your withholding order.

Past Due Support

If you owe past due support, the total amount listed on the income withholding notice your employer receives may be more than the amount in your original court order. If your employers cannot withhold the total support amount due, you are still responsible for paying the unpaid amount. You may be penalized by liens on your property, revocation of your driver’s license or passport and other enforcement measures if you fail to pay the full amount.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Punishment for Not Paying Child Support in the State of Nevada

References

Related articles

Colorado Rules for Wage Garnishments

When you cannot pay your debts, some of your creditors may seek to garnish your wages, receiving a portion of your paycheck before you get it. Though Colorado has not created its own garnishment limitations, federal law places some limits on what your creditors can do. Additionally, bankruptcy can discharge some of your debts and stop the garnishments.

Laws on Child Support Arrears in Nevada

Nevada’s laws on child support payments, including arrearages, are covered in Chapters 125B and 130 of Nevada Revised Statutes. While state agencies are available to help, you may wish to consult with an attorney if you have questions about how these laws apply to your specific situation.

What Percent Is Deducted for Child Support?

The size of your child support obligation depends on many factors including the incomes of you and your spouse, the number of children you have to support, and the state in which you live. However, the maximum amount that can be withheld from your paycheck for child support is set by federal law.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

South Dakota Restrictions on a License When You Owe Child Support

If you have children, your divorce decree likely ordered child support payments from one parent to the other, since ...

Alabama's State Laws on Child Support Payments

Alabama law requires a court order to establish child support payments. Depending on the facts of your case and whether ...

Can I Be Forced to Switch Jobs Due to Child Support?

If you have children, your divorce decree likely includes an order to pay a specific amount of child support. Since ...

Can Child Support Payments Be Garnished From an Unemployment Check?

Parents are legally obligated to provide financially for their children, so courts establish child support orders as ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED