Can Divorce Proceedings in Arizona Be Stop by the Petitioner?

By Mary Jane Freeman

If you've already filed for divorce in Arizona, but the divorce has not yet been finalized, you can stop the proceedings. However, the requirements for stopping the divorce differ, depending on how far along you are in the process.

If you've already filed for divorce in Arizona, but the divorce has not yet been finalized, you can stop the proceedings. However, the requirements for stopping the divorce differ, depending on how far along you are in the process.

Stopping Your Divorce

In Arizona, divorce is known as dissolution of marriage. If the judge has not yet issued a signed Decree of Dissolution of Marriage in your case, you can stop the proceedings. If you've filed for divorce, but have not yet served your spouse with the papers, you can simply file a Notice of Dismissal with the court to stop the divorce action. If service has already been completed, you must file a Motion to Dismiss. If you are in the middle of divorce proceedings, and you and your spouse are in agreement about ending the divorce, you may file a Stipulation to Dismiss to terminate the proceedings.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Can a Divorce Be Stopped in Florida If the Papers Have Been Filed?

References

Related articles

How to Legally Change a Name in Tennessee

In Tennessee, it is a fairly uncomplicated process to legally change your name. If you prefer a name other than the one you were born with, you can apply to your local county clerk for a name change. The Tennessee Code outlines the rules for name changes in the state.

How to Obtain a Divorce if There Are No Children & It Is Uncontested in the State of Kansas

The process for filing an uncontested divorce without children in Kansas is relatively straightforward. Kansas permits no-fault divorce; therefore, you do not need to allege any marital wrongdoing in order to obtain a divorce decree in the Sunflower State. Rather, you only need to allege that you and your spouse can no longer live together as husband and wife due to incompatibility. Before proceeding with an uncontested divorce in Kansas, you must first satisfy the residency requirement. In Kansas, either you or your spouse must have lived in the state for a minimum of 60 days prior to filing.

Steps to Filing for Divorce in Pierce County, Washington

The state of Washington permits you to obtain a divorce if you or your spouse is a resident of the state. State law governs divorce cases, although each county court has its own rules regarding legal filings and fee schedule. In Pierce County, as in other Washington counties, the process begins with the filing of a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to Serve Divorce Papers Under Massachusetts State Law

Divorce is the termination of a marriage by court order. The person who wants a divorce starts a court action that ends ...

Is a Divorce Decree a Court Order?

After receiving your divorce decree from the court, you may wonder if you have to comply with all the terms and ...

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day ...

How to Legally Change Your Name in Arizona?

In Arizona it is a fairly simple process to change your name. If you do not like the name you were born with, or you ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED