Can a Person in the State of Kentucky Get Divorced if Their Wife Is Pregnant?

By Teo Spengler

Kentucky law grants either spouse the right to end a marriage. You can initiate a divorce by filing a verified petition stating that the marriage is irretrievably broken, without assigning further blame or establishing fault. However, the timing of your divorce may be affected if your wife is pregnant.

No Blame

All states offer no-fault divorces based on allegations of irreconcilable differences. Kentucky's no-fault dissolution procedure contains a legal twist, however, if one of the spouse's is pregnant.

Case on Hold

Kentucky courts have the option of putting the brakes on a divorce case if one spouse is pregnant. The statute provides that if the wife is pregnant at the time the divorce petition is filed, the court "may continue the case until the pregnancy is terminated." A case that is continued is simply put on hold; no action can be taken on the case. According to the Legal Aid Network of Kentucky, courts require that the spouses wait until the child is born even if the father of the child is not a party to the marriage.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Is it Illegal to Divorce a Pregnant Woman in Louisiana?
 

References

Related articles

My Spouse Is Unwilling to Sign Divorce Papers in Georgia

Filing for divorce is a stressful process, and it is not always the case that both spouses want the divorce to proceed. A party to a divorce may have many reasons to refuse to sign the divorce papers, including anger or frustration. But you can still obtain a divorce in Georgia even if your spouse refuses to sign the divorce papers.

Can a Husband File Criminal Charges Against His Wife in Divorce Proceedings?

In some divorce cases, insults and allegations fly like autumn leaves. Even when spouses file for no-fault divorce in which no blame is established, spouses may recite ugly incidents, real or fabricated, to affect the court's property, support or custody rulings. However, spouses wishing to file criminal charges must take their allegations to a law enforcement agency.

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Can a Third Party in Virginia Be Held in a Divorce Case in an Extramarital Affair?

If an extramarital affair leads to divorce, the jilted spouse might want to know whether Virginia laws provide a way to ...

How Do I File for Divorce in Oregon?

In Oregon, divorce is called dissolution of marriage. Either spouse can file for dissolution and must do so in ...

Georgia Law on Custody If Adultery Is Committed

When spouses get divorced in Georgia, one spouse's infidelity usually doesn't influence the court's decision when it ...

Oregon State Pregnancy & Divorce Laws

Deciding to divorce is never an easy decision, especially if you're pregnant. Although being pregnant during your ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED