Child Health Insurance in Divorce Cases in Texas

By Beverly Bird

Texas takes the welfare of its children seriously. If you're facing divorce in this state and you have children, the proceedings will involve more than determining custody and child support. State law, such as the Texas Family Code, includes provisions for your children's medical care, including health insurance, in addition to a child support order. If you fail to provide health insurance for your child in violation of a court order, the court can fine you up to $500 and send you to jail for six months.

Employer-Sponsored Plans

Texas courts first look to the parent who is paying child support to provide health insurance for the children. If you are currently providing health insurance for your child through an employer-sponsored plan, the court will likely order you to continue doing so, so long as the cost is reasonable, which the statutes set at 9 percent or less of your yearly income. Under Texas law, a parent's contributions to employer-sponsored health plans are made with pre-tax dollars. Child support is then calculated using his net pay after the deduction for health coverage and taxes. If the parent paying child support does not have access to reasonable employer-sponsored health insurance, the court will look to the other parent's employer-sponsored plan. If a reasonable plan is available, the court will order the parents to acquire this coverage and add this expense to the amount of the child support order.

Other Coverage

If neither parent has access to employer-sponsored coverage nor can cover the children at reasonable cost, Texas law allows judges to order parents to purchase private coverage. A judge won't do so, however, if the cost is more than reasonable and the parents clearly can't afford it. A judge can also obligate a stepparent to cover the children on an employer's plan if either spouse remarries after the divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

CHIP and Medicaid

If affording private health insurance is out of the question, the court can order either you or your spouse to apply for government-sponsored health insurance coverage for your children, such as Medicaid or the Children's Health Insurance Program. This generally only occurs if your incomes are low enough to qualify for these programs. If you're ordered to cover your children on your employer's plan, you can't opt out and cover them on Medicaid or CHIP instead, even if you meet the income requirements for coverage. The costs for these plans will be considered in the child support order.

Cash Medical Support

Even if you have health insurance coverage for your children, co-pays and unreimbursed medical expenses are usually unavoidable. Texas courts include these costs in medical support orders as well. Depending on your respective incomes, you and your spouse may be expected to share these expenses 50-50. If you earn considerably more than your spouse does, however, you might have to pay the bulk of these costs. A medical support order obligates you to pay a set figure toward these expenses in advance so the funds are available if your children need them – it's similar to having a second child support order. The same applies if you simply cannot cover your children with insurance by any means – you don't qualify for government programs, you can't afford private coverage and your employers don't offer plans. In this case, the medical support order covers the cost of all anticipated medical care your children might need, not just co-pays.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
What Is Included in Unreimbursed Medical Expenses for a Divorce?

References

Related articles

How to Figure Up Child Support for Arkansas

Arkansas is one of the states that determines child support based on the noncustodial parent's income, without regard to the custodial parent's income. This base support amount may be adjusted up or down to promote the welfare of the children and to compensate for certain expenses of the noncustodial parent.

Child Support Laws & Estimated Amounts in Arkansas

When it comes to child support, there's an easy way to calculate it and a difficult way. Three methods exist and most states elect to use one – the income shares model, which is the difficult method. Arkansas uses the percentage of paying spouse's income model instead. This makes it comparatively simple to estimate how much child support you'll have to pay if you're facing divorce.

How to Split Expenses for Kids in a Divorce

Both parents are obligated to provide financial support to their children during and following a divorce. Child support is usually provided to the custodial parent by the noncustodial parent. However, there are many additional expenses, called extraordinary expenses, that are not included with the payment of child support. These additional expenses can be divided between the parents in several ways, depending on the circumstances of your case. If you are paying child support, you must be prepared to pay additional money above and beyond your support obligation in order to fund your children's additional expenses.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Texas Family Code Child Support Guidelines

Heading into a divorce, one of the hardest things to deal with is the uncertainty. You may have heard horror stories ...

Health Insurance Laws During Divorce in Texas

Families often obtain health insurance through one spouse’s employer-sponsored group plan; however, you likely will ...

Who Is Responsible for Children's Medical Coverage in Divorce in Ohio?

When couples divorce, they typically focus on issues like property division, alimony, child support and custody. ...

The Child Support Obligation for a Non-Custodial Parent According to the Law in Illinois

Illinois is one of only 10 jurisdictions that still calculates child support the good, old-fashioned way, based only on ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED