Child Support Arrearage Laws for Oregon

By Beverly Bird

In 2009, Oregon began taking a notably tough stance against parents who willfully refuse to pay child support; the Department of Justice arrested 21 non-custodial parents and subsequently collected more than $530,000 for their families. If you owe child support arrearages, although incarceration is usually Oregon's last resort to convince you to pay up, it can happen. Judgments for child support in this state are enforceable for 35 years after the date of your divorce decree, if your decree includes provisions for child support. Otherwise, the time begins running from the date of your support order.

Oregon's Child Support Guidelines

Like the majority of states, Oregon calculates child support based on the income shares model. The model works to ensure your child enjoys the same standard of living he would have if you and your spouse hadn't divorced. The state sets aside a percentage of your combined incomes for your children, and each of you must contribute to that percentage based on how much of the combined income total you earn. The custodial parent pays her share by directly paying for the children's needs. The non-custodial parent makes a cash payment to the custodial parent for his share.

The Role of the State

Oregon's Division of Child Support oversees the state's efforts to collect child support arrearages through the state's Child Support Program. DCS and its Child Support Program operate under Oregon's Department of Justice. The Child Support Program monitors payments on all support orders paid through state services and can initiate collection and other efforts when a parent falls behind.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Collection Measures

The Federal Tax Refund Offset Program requires all states to notify the Internal Revenue Service when a non-custodial parent falls $500 behind in his child support payments. The limit drops to $150 if your children receive Temporary Assistance for Needy Families. The IRS will divert your tax refund to Oregon's Child Support Program so the state can collect your arrears from the payment. DCS will also report your delinquency to credit agencies. If you own property, it can place liens against it, preventing you from selling or borrowing against it until you pay your child support arrearages. The state can seize inherited assets, insurance proceeds, lottery winnings and even cash assets, such as bank or investment accounts.

Punitive Provisions

If Oregon can't secure your child support arrearages from your assets or cash sources for some reason, such as if you've taken steps to avoid it, the Child Support Program has other options. It can ask the court to obligate you to post bond. This involves placing assets or cash in the custody of the state. If you continue to fail to make support payments, you'll forfeit the bond money or asset. The state will also suspend any licenses you have, including your driver's license, recreational licenses, and even professional licenses if the field you work in requires one. Your passport may be revoked, or if you apply for one, your request could be denied. The state will not authorize release of your passport until you pay all arrearages in full. Typically, you must fall at least $2,500 behind before the state will resort to these measures. A slight exception exists for revocation of licenses; the limit for this enforcement measure is $2,500 or three months' support, whichever is greater.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Can I Travel to Europe if I Owe Child Support?
 

References

Related articles

How To Stop Alaska Child Support for My Daughter, Who Turned 18

In a perfect world, you could simply stop writing checks for child support when your child emancipates and reaches the age of majority. Alaska law makes it almost this easy. Depending on whether you're supporting more than one child and whether your ex-spouse objects, you might be able to terminate your support obligation through written notification to the state's Child Support Services Division, or you may not have to do anything at all.

The Wisconsin Statute of Limitations on Child Support in Arrears

Wisconsin is one of the more aggressive states when it comes to collecting child support. The legislature makes it difficult for a non-custodial parent to avoid paying support and to accrue arrears for an extended period of time. If it happens, however, the Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support works in conjunction with the Division of Workforce Development to take action. If you're owed child support and you're not receiving it, you can contact your county's child support agency or a private attorney, both of whom can enlist the help of the BCS and DWD long before your statute of limitations for enforcement runs out.

Does Child Support Automatically Stop When a Child Turns 18 in Maryland?

Child support laws often confound parents because the finer points change from state to state and few universal, hard-and-fast rules exist. Child support might end at age 18 or not until age 21, depending on where you live. It might stop automatically when your child reaches a certain age or a milestone event, or you may have to take legal action to end your responsibility for paying it. Maryland's laws are a little more confusing than most because the state attempted legislation in 2011 that failed. As a result, some parents may not be sure what the current rules are.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help. Wills & Trusts

Related articles

Child Support Laws on Back Payments in Michigan

Michigan makes it hard for non-custodial parents to fall behind in their child support obligations because most child ...

Penalty for Non-Payment of Child Support in Texas

Divorce doesn't end a parent's responsibility to support his children financially, so when a court orders child ...

Back Child Support Laws and the Kentucky Statute of Limitations

All states take collection of child support seriously, but Kentucky is particularly aggressive about pursuing parents ...

South Dakota Restrictions on a License When You Owe Child Support

If you have children, your divorce decree likely ordered child support payments from one parent to the other, since ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED