How Child Support Works

By Heather Frances J.D.

Child support is designed to ensure that children do not suffer financially when their parents split. When parents divorce, the divorce court establishes an amount of financial support the noncustodial parent must pay to the custodial parent. However, each state uses its own guidelines and methods to set and process these payments.

Percentage of Income Method

Some states calculate child support based on a straight percentage of the noncustodial parent's income. In these states, the noncustodial parent pays the same percentage no matter how much the custodial parent makes. For example, Texas courts generally set a child support amount at 20 percent of the noncustodial parent's income if there is one child, and the percentage increases as the number of children increases. Since this method does not consider factors like the custodial parent's income, it is less common than other methods of support calculation.

Income Shares Method

A more common method of child support calculation is the income shares model, which is based on the idea that both parents should provide a portion of their incomes to support the child and that this portion should not change when the parents divorce. States that use this method and the Melson formula, which is similar to the income shares model, consider both parents' incomes when assigning a support amount. Generally, these states establish a percentage of both parents' incomes that must be paid for support, dividing that amount between the parents according to the proportion each contributes to their combined incomes. For example, if the noncustodial parent makes 30 percent of the parents' combined income, he will pay 30 percent of the total support amount set by the state.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Making Payments

Courts establish child support amounts in a court order, often as part of the divorce decree. This may be completed through an income withholding order, which requires the paying parent's employer to withhold money from the paying parent's wages. The employer then sends the money to a state agency which forwards that payment to the custodial parent. Noncustodial parents who are self-employed or unemployed have the same payment requirements but must send payments to the state agency on their own since they do not have employers to withhold the payment amounts for them.

Enforcement

State child support agencies and state courts have the authority to enforce child support orders when the noncustodial parent fails to pay support as ordered. The court that issued the order can hold the paying parent in contempt, even throwing him in jail. When the noncustodial parent refuses to pay, states can also place liens on the noncustodial parent's real estate or other property, suspend or revoke his driver's, professional or recreational licenses, seize his tax refund and bank account or intercept his government benefit payments.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Florida Child Support Regulations

References

Related articles

Can I Get Child Support From a Self-Employed Father?

Parents are required by law to provide financial support for their children, even after they divorce. State laws establish guidelines for parents to pay this support, and divorce courts issue orders setting child support payment amounts based on these guidelines. Generally, states consider many types of income, including self-employment income, when establishing child support amounts.

How Does Louisiana's Child Support System Work?

When parents divorce, children may suffer financially from the decreased household income level. Child support orders are given to help ensure that both parents are supporting the children financially, even when only one parent has custody of the children. In Louisiana, as in other states, child support guidelines help determine the amount to be paid, and the state can help a custodial parent obtain payments.

Can Child Support Payments Be Garnished From an Unemployment Check?

Parents are legally obligated to provide financially for their children, so courts establish child support orders as part of divorce decrees. A noncustodial parent’s obligation to pay child support does not stop because he’s unemployed, and the custodial parent or a state agency can still pursue enforcement of a child support order.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

What Percentage of Income Does Child Support Take for One Kid?

Each state's laws determine how much child support a non-custodial parent must pay after a divorce, and the rates and ...

Child Support Laws in Georgia

Georgia's Department of Human Resources, Division of Child Support Services, is responsible for enforcing the state's ...

Massachusetts' Child Support Laws

As in other states, Massachusetts parents must provide financial support for their children, even if the parents are ...

According to Kentucky Law, What Happens if a Man Isn't Able to Pay Child Support?

A noncustodial parent in Kentucky is responsible for paying child support until his child graduates from high school ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED