Connecticut Divorce Law and Domestic Partners

By Jimmy Verner

Domestic partnerships, known as civil unions in Connecticut, no longer exist as such in the state. In 2009, the Connecticut legislature passed a law treating same-sex couples who entered into civil unions before October 1, 2010 as married as of that date. Since that time, same-sex couples may obtain divorces in Connecticut under the same rules that govern heterosexual divorces.

Civil Unions

In 2005, the Connecticut legislature passed a law that permitted same-sex partners to enter into civil unions. Parties to civil unions enjoyed the same rights and privileges as heterosexual married couples, but only heterosexual couples could get married. In 2008, the Connecticut Supreme Court held that the statutory prohibition against same-sex marriage violated the Connecticut Constitution. In 2009, the Connecticut legislature amended Connecticut law, allowing same-sex couples to get married. The legislature also removed all provisions of the law that restricted marriage to heterosexual couples. In that same legislation, parties to civil unions were deemed to be married as of October 1, 2010.

Divorce Laws

There are 10 grounds for divorce in Connecticut, including the no-fault ground that the marriage has irretrievably broken down, as well as other common grounds such as adultery, desertion and cruelty. There is a 90-day waiting period after filing the divorce petition. If no agreements can be reached, at some point there will be a trial at which the court will divide the couple's property and rule on any alimony requests. Further, if there are children, the court will determine custody rights, set a visitation schedule and establish the amount of child support to be paid.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Residency Requirements

Connecticut recognizes domestic partnerships, civil unions and same-sex marriages from other states. If a same-sex couple marries elsewhere but seeks to divorce in Connecticut, the action may proceed if at least one of the spouses still lives in Connecticut at the time the divorce is filed. Otherwise, Connecticut requires at least one of the spouses to be a resident of Connecticut for at least 12 months before a divorce can be granted.

In Other States

Under Connecticut law, a Connecticut same-sex marriage may be recognized in another state if one or both of the spouses travel to or reside in that state. But Connecticut cannot direct what relationships other states recognize. If the married same-sex couple moves to a state that does not recognize same-sex marriages, the couple may not divorce there. The couple cannot divorce in Connecticut, either, without reestablishing residency in Connecticut.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Tennessee Cohabitation Agreements
 

References

Related articles

What Is the Virginia Statutory Code for No Fault Divorce?

Filing for divorce can be especially challenging if it is necessary to prove that one of the spouses is at fault for the divorce. In Virginia, the statutes that govern divorce allow couples to dissolve their marriage without establishing fault. To have a no-fault divorce, the couple must prove that they lived separate and apart for one year if there are minor children, or six months if there are no minor children.

An Uncontested Divorce in Kansas

Although an uncontested divorce may be less stressful and time-consuming than a contested divorce, you must ensure that you follow the laws of the state to properly dissolve the marriage. An uncontested divorce means that the couple agree to end the marriage and agree on the terms of the divorce, including spousal support, property division, child custody and child support. Before a divorce settlement agreement is finalized in Kansas, the court must review the settlement agreement to ensure that it is fair for both spouses.

Louisiana Annulment Statute

If a marriage does not meet the requirements of Louisiana law, the marriage may be null and void. With an annulment, it is essentially as if the marriage never existed. Divorce relief, such as alimony and child support, is only awarded if the couple actually and reasonably believed the marriage was valid.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Grounds for Divorce in Tennessee

From attempted murder to refusal to move to the state, the law in Tennessee allows couples to claim some unique grounds ...

How Soon After I Get Divorced Can I Get Married in the State of New Hampshire?

New Hampshire's domestic relations statutes govern divorces throughout the state and give guidance regarding ...

Divorce Process in Georgia

Georgia state laws govern the process of divorce. The state has adopted “no-fault” divorce, meaning you do not need ...

Does a Will Supersede a Prenuptial Agreement in Indiana?

Indiana prenuptial agreements are governed by the Uniform Premarital Agreements Act, according to Indiana Code 31-11-3. ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED