What Is Considered Income in Florida Child Support?

By Jimmy Verner

Income for child support purposes in Florida covers a wide range of sources. It would be fair to say that if you receive income from nearly any source, it will be considered income when the court sets the amount of child support you'll owe. If you are unemployed or underemployed, the court can even impute to you amounts of money you would have made if you were working. There are, however, certain deductions from income that must also be considered when calculating child support.

Income Sources

Under Florida law, income for child support purposes includes, but is not limited to, salary or wages; bonuses, commissions, allowances, overtime and tips; business income; disability benefits; worker's compensation; unemployment compensation; pension, retirement and annuity payments; Social Security benefits; court-ordered spousal support; interest and dividends; net rental income; income from royalties, trusts and estates; expense reimbursements; and gains derived from buying and selling property unless the gain is a one-time event. Income does not include Social Security payments received to take care of a child when the other parent is absent.

Imputed Income

When a person is unemployed, or underemployed, a court can impute income to him if the unemployment or underemployment is voluntary. This means the court can calculate child support based on the parent's employment potential and probable earnings level. An exception to this rule exists when the court finds that the parent can't work because of physical or mental issues over which the parent has no control. The court considers the parent's work history and qualifications to determine how much a person with the same or similar background could earn.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Deductions From Income

Net income for child support purposes is income less these deductions: federal, state and local income tax deductions, adjusted for the person's actual filing status and allowable dependents; income tax liabilities; Social Security and Medicare withholdings; mandatory union dues; mandatory retirement payments; health insurance payments, but not including payments for a minor child's coverage; court-ordered support for other children which is actually being paid; and spousal support paid under a court order from a previous marriage or current marriage.

Child Support Calculation

Once the court has added together the parents' income, imputed income if warranted, and subtracted allowable deductions, it determines the minimum need for child support based upon the parents' combined net incomes and how many children need to be supported. Under Florida support guidelines, the court calculates each parent's share of child support based on how much each parent makes compared to their combined net monthly income. For example, if one parent's income is 40 percent of the parents' combined net monthly income, that parent will be responsible for 40 percent of the amount of child support.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Ohio Child Support Calculation Laws
 

Resources

Related articles

How Much Pay Can Be Garnished for Child Support in Florida?

Florida law gives children the right to receive financial support from both their parents until they reach 18. Florida uses income withholding and wage garnishment of a non-custodial parent's earnings to ensure the parent pays child support. Income withholding is used for payment of current child support obligations. If a parent has past due child support obligations, a special type of income withholding, called wage garnishment, is used. The amount a parent pays through income withholding is the amount a court ordered him to pay every month for child support. On the other hand, the amount a parent pays with wage garnishment is a percentage of his earnings.

Questions About Child Support in South Carolina

When parents divorce, determining child support can feel like solving a math problem. South Carolina, like other states, uses a specific formula for calculating the amount that the parent with physical custody of the child, known as the custodial parent, should receive. The other parent, referred to as the non-custodial parent, may then request certain adjustments to the base figure. Further, either parent may pursue a modification of an existing order if the circumstances change after a child support order is issued.

Texas Child Support Questions

Child support is the financial assistance paid by one parent to the parent with primary custody of the children after the parents divorce or separate. The Texas Family Code outlines how child support is calculated, when an order can be modified and when the support order terminates. The law also sets forth the procedures for enforcing a support order that goes unpaid.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Florida Child Support Regulations

Each state has different rules when it comes to child support, but Florida allocates the support amount between ...

The 8 Major Steps in Calculating Child Support in the State of New Jersey

When you file for divorce with children in New Jersey, the court determines child custody, parenting time and ...

How to Determine Child Support Amounts in Kentucky

Kentucky uses what is known as an Income Shares model for calculating child support. This model attempts to recreate ...

What Constitutes Substantial Change for Someone Modifying Child Support in Florida?

Florida courts are aware that when parents part ways, their life circumstances may change. Children grow, lifestyles ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED