How to Contest a Divorce in the State of Michigan

By Michael Butler

If your spouse filed for divorce in the state of Michigan, you cannot contest the divorce itself as Michigan, like all other states, recognizes no-fault divorces. However, if there are issues of child custody, property division or alimony you want to contest, you can. To do so, you must act within 21 days of receiving service of the divorce petition. If you do not act within that time, your spouse might be eligible for a default judgment.

If your spouse filed for divorce in the state of Michigan, you cannot contest the divorce itself as Michigan, like all other states, recognizes no-fault divorces. However, if there are issues of child custody, property division or alimony you want to contest, you can. To do so, you must act within 21 days of receiving service of the divorce petition. If you do not act within that time, your spouse might be eligible for a default judgment.

Step 1

Prepare an Answer to the divorce petition. You can obtain an Answer form from an online document service provider. You can also draft your own form so long as the format complies with Michigan court rules. Generally, you need to include the parties' names, court name, your address and the case number. The Answer must be in at least 12 point type.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 2

State which paragraphs of the divorce petition you agree and disagree with in your Answer.

Step 3

File your Answer with the clerk of the court within 21 days of receiving the divorce petition. Serve a copy of the Answer on your spouse or her attorney if she is represented.

Step 4

Attend all hearings in the case and follow all court orders. If you have children, you may need to attend a custody evaluation. If you and your spouse disagree on property, assets or alimony, you may need to attend a meditation conference.

Step 5

Go to the final divorce trial, if there is one, and present your position to the court.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Do Your Own Divorce in Michigan

References

Related articles

Is a Court Appearance Necessary for a Divorce Online in North Carolina?

As long as you live separately from your spouse for a year and are a resident of North Carolina for six months prior to the filing a divorce action, you can obtain an absolute divorce in the state. During your separation period, you generally work out the terms of your divorce, including property division, custody and support with your spouse. If you cannot reach an agreement regarding these terms, you will have to go to trial. However, if you and your spouse do reach an agreement, once the 12-month separation period ends, you can file for your absolute divorce online or use a legal online document provider to prepare and file your paperwork. Whether or not you have to appear in court for a hearing depends on the county in which you file.

How Do I File for Divorce in Oregon?

In Oregon, divorce is called dissolution of marriage. Either spouse can file for dissolution and must do so in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Oregon statutes. During the dissolution proceeding, a court may divide marital property, award alimony, decide custody issues and terminate the marriage.

How to Answer Divorce Complaints in Georgia

Being served with divorce paperwork can be a stressful experience. These documents are often difficult to understand and you may be left confused and unsure about how and when to respond. Knowing how to properly answer a divorce complaint in Georgia will help ensure that you are able to exercise all your rights in the divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Documents Needed for the Respondents in a Divorce Summons

Receiving notice that your spouse filed for divorce can be a stressful experience. Most states require that the filing ...

How to File for Divorce in Maryland

The most difficult aspect of filing for divorce in Maryland is getting your grounds and residency requirements ...

How to Do Your Own Divorce in Ohio

Either spouse may legally file for divorce in the state of Ohio. If your divorce is uncontested or no-fault, you can ...

How to File an Answer to a Divorce Summons

When you receive a Summons and Complaint in a divorce action, you typically have 20 days in which to respond. Your ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED