How to Contest an Uncontested Divorce in Mississippi

By Heather Frances J.D.

When spouses not only agree to be divorced, but also on the reason for the divorce and terms of the divorce, they can file an uncontested divorce. An uncontested divorce is typically cheaper and quicker than a contested divorce, which is one in which the spouses dispute some or all of the issues of the divorce. However, Mississippi law is strict when it comes to divorce and, depending on the circumstances, a spouse can prevent the completion of a no-fault divorce by contesting it.

Uncontested Divorce

Typically, an uncontested Mississippi divorce is one in which spouses file their divorce petition with the court based on irreconcilable differences. Mississippi allows divorces to be granted based on irreconcilable differences, which is Mississippi’s no-fault ground for divorce, only if both spouses agree to this ground and the divorce. Neither spouse can get a divorce based on irreconcilable differences if the other spouse disputes, or contests, the ground by claiming the marriage is not broken.

Contesting an Uncontested Divorce

Before a judge can grant a divorce, Mississippi law requires a 60-day waiting period after the divorce is filed. During this waiting period, spouses getting an uncontested divorce can negotiate and draft a custody and property settlement agreement to submit to the court. At the end of the waiting period, spouses present their agreement to the court for approval. However, at any time before the divorce is granted, either spouse can revoke his consent to the divorce; for example, by refusing to sign the settlement agreement, which would then halt the uncontested divorce process and force the case to go to trial.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Settlement Agreement

At the end of the waiting period, the spouses must submit their settlement agreement to the judge for approval, and the judge may require an informal hearing. If one spouse signs the settlement agreement but then changes his mind about agreeing to its terms, he may revoke his agreement in various ways. For example, he can appear at the hearing and request a trial.

Partial Agreement

If spouses agree to the divorce but disagree about some custody or property settlement terms, the judge will require a hearing to receive evidence to decide those issues. The spouses can form a written agreement addressing the issues on which they agree and leave the rest of the issues for the judge to decide after the 60-day waiting period has passed. For example, if the spouses agree about custody and property division but don’t agree about alimony, the judge can decide the alimony issue and simply approve their agreement on the other issues.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Can One Mate Refuse a Divorce in North Carolina?

References

Related articles

Can You Write Your Own Divorce and Just Have It Notorized in the State of Pennsylvania?

Most states -- including Pennsylvania -- go out of their way to allow spouses to divorce according to their own terms. You're encouraged to reach a settlement agreement and submit it to a judge, as this avoids the need for trial. But your agreement isn't a court order. It's just a contract that dictates the terms under which you and your spouse will end your marriage. Even if you notarize it, it doesn't finalize your divorce.

My Spouse Wants a Divorce But I Don't: Do I Still Have to Pay for the Paperwork Fees?

Each state creates its own divorce laws and procedures. Thus, the exact rules and process for dissolving a marriage will be different in each jurisdiction. Generally, however, it is the petitioner, or party filing for divorce, who is responsible for paying court filing fees. Thus, if you receive divorce papers and respond to them, you may not be responsible for any court fees. In certain circumstances, however, you may incur some fees even though you do not agree to the divorce.

What to Expect at a Dissolution Hearing

By the time you've worked your way through the divorce process and it's almost over, you probably feel like an old pro. You might even find yourself giving advice to your friends. Then you realize you have one more hurdle. You can't get a divorce – called a dissolution in some states – until you attend a final hearing. There are two types of dissolution hearings.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to Stop Divorce Proceedings in California in the First 30 Days

Married couples often reconcile their differences once a divorce has been filed. To stop the divorce process within the ...

How to File an Extension for a Divorce

Courts are generally busy with many cases on their dockets, so they like to keep everything moving according to set ...

What Happens If Divorce Papers Go Unsigned?

During the divorce process, the court and individual spouses’ attorneys ask both parties to sign agreements, petitions ...

Uncontested Divorce in Illinois

While cooperating and communicating with your spouse during divorce proceedings may be challenging, it can allow you to ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED