Cost to Start an Arizona LLC

By Tom Streissguth

A limited liability company protects its members from personal liability for company debts and other obligations, and affords a simplified method of taxation for owners and partners. To do business in Arizona, an LLC must register with the Arizona Corporations Commission, or ACC, and pay the statutory registration fees.

Name Search and Reservation

Choose a unique name for your LLC. The name cannot be identical to the name of another entity formally doing business in the state, nor can it be a close imitation of another company’s name. You can check name availability on the ACC's website (see Resources). You may reserve a name online for a fee of $45 or by mail for $10. All fees listed are current as of December, 2010.

Articles of Organization

The next step in the process is to file Articles of Organization with the ACC. The articles must list the company's name and location, manager names and addresses, and the date the company is to be dissolved if it is to operate for a limited time. You must also designate a statutory agent who resides within the state and who agrees to accept legal papers and process on behalf of the LLC.

Ready to start your LLC? Start an LLC Online Now

Registration

As of December 2010, the fee for the registering a domestic LLC is $50; expedited processing is $85. For a foreign LLC, the fee is $150, with expedited processing available for $185. If you are reinstating an LLC that has been dissolved by the state, the fee is $100; expedited reinstatement is $135.

Amendments and Mergers

Any amendment to the Articles of Organization, for either domestic or foreign LLCs, can be filed with the ACC for $25 or $60 for expedited service. If you wish to merge the LLC with another business entity, paperwork known as Articles of Merger can be filed for a fee of $50, or $85 for expedited service.

Copying and Certifying

Copies of documents on file with the ACC can be obtained at any point in the process by paying a fee of $5 plus 50 cents per page. The ACC can certify these documents for an additional fee of $10, or $45 for expedited service. The same fee is charged for a Certificate of Good Standing, which is a legal document proving that your LLC is currently registered and operating normally in Arizona.

Ready to start your LLC? Start an LLC Online Now
What Does It Cost to Set Up an LLC in the State of Illinois?
 

References

Resources

Related articles

How Do I Set Up an LLC in Utah?

A limited liability company is a business entity that protects its owners, who are known as members, from liability for financial obligations as well as most forms of litigation. The LLC also provides benefits in the form of simplified taxation. By default, LLCs are not taxed as separate entities by the federal government; members declare their net incomes from the business on their personal income tax returns. However, members can elect to have their LLC taxed as a corporation. Setting up a limited liability company is a relatively easy matter in most states including Utah.

How to Dissolve a Nevada C-Corporation

If you're planning on shutting down a Nevada corporation, state law allows for fairly simple filing and notice requirements. Simple as they may be, you must be sure to file the correct forms to wind your corporation down properly. Once you file a Certificate of Dissolution with the state, your business must cease all operations within Nevada.

Washington State LLC Laws

Washington State enacted its LLC laws in 1995, called the Washington Limited Liability Company Act. The LLC laws authorize the creation of new LLCs in Washington State and permit LLCs formed in other states to conduct business in Washington State. The corporations division of the secretary of state’s office oversees implementation of the LLC laws. Additionally, the Washington Administrative Code sets forth rules and regulations established by the secretary of state regarding the practices and procedures of the corporations division pertaining to limited liability companies.

LLCs, Corporations, Patents, Attorney Help

Related articles

LLC Filing Fee in Delaware

Filing fees for a Delaware limited liability company, or LLC, are required when submitting documents to the Delaware ...

Comparison of LLC Fees Laws in Delaware Versus Wyoming

You can form an LLC in any state by submitting all documentation required by state law and pay an initial filing fee. ...

How Do I File an LLC With the Texas Secretary of State?

A limited liability company (LLC) is a form of business organization that has features of both a corporation and a ...

The Cost of Setting Up an LLC

Costs are an important consideration when deciding to set up an LLC. Because each state has its own LLC laws, the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED