How do I Create a Basic Will in Maine?

By Joseph Nicholson

If you are a resident of Maine, unless you create a will, your assets will be distributed after your death according to the laws of intestacy contained in Part 1 of Title 18-A, Article 2 of the Maine Revised Statutes. A basic will in Maine can be made by anyone over 18 years of age. It must be in writing, and must be signed by the person making the will and at least two credible witnesses.

Step 1

Inventory your estate. Before you start drafting your will, it's a good idea to make a list of all the assets you own. Also make a list of the people or entities to which you'd like to leave any part of your estate.

Step 2

Start the will document by stating your name, that this document is your last will and testament, and that you revoke all previous wills and codicils.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Step 3

Dispose of property by category. An efficient way to dispose of your estate is to group it into categories of property, such as real estate, stocks, household items, cash and other items. You can incorporate a separate list of property by referencing it in the will, as long as the list is in existence at the time you sign the will. Include a section for any property not named in the will, if applicable, and name a beneficiary.

Step 4

Execute the will by signing it in the presence of two credible witnesses. The witnesses may be people who receive property in the will, but should be of sound mind and not convicted of a felony or crime of moral turpitude. There is no age restrictions for witnesses, but they must be generally capable of being a witness, which means they must be capable of understanding the legal effect of their signature.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Illinois Laws on Wills
 

References

Resources

Related articles

How to Make Your Own Will Forms

A will is a document that tells a probate court how to distribute the assets of the person who wrote the will -- known as the testator -- after he dies. A will must be prepared in accordance with state law or it will not be enforced. The laws of the various states differ somewhat on what is required to create a valid will. If your will is declared invalid, your property will be distributed among your relatives in accordance with the state intestacy law.

Wyoming Estate Laws

Wyoming estate laws set forth how your property will be divided upon your death. Your estate includes everything you own at the time of death. If you create a will, most of your estate will pass to the beneficiaries you name in your will. If not, your property will pass according to Wyoming's intestate succession laws. Additionally, other property will pass by the nature of relationship or ownership.

How to Write a Will in Texas

Texas recognizes three types of wills. Oral, handwritten and typewritten wills are all valid in the state. Texas Probate Code includes the state’s requirements for wills and includes detailed instructions on creating basic documents. You may prepare a will in Texas if you are at least 18 years old,or if you are under 18 but lawfully married or a member of the military.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Standard Will Vs. Living Will

Planning your estate may involve creating several documents to address your end-of-life care before you die and your ...

How to Create a Will in Idaho

Wills do not need to contain magic language to be a valid legal document. As long as your will complies with Idaho laws ...

Are Homemade Wills Legal in Texas?

Texas does not require you to have an attorney draft your will, so you can write one yourself at home or complete one ...

Rules About Wills

Your will explains to those you leave behind how you want them to deal with your property when you die. It also allows ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED