How do I Dissolve LLC in State of Michigan?

By Salvatore Jackson

Under Michigan law, all limited liability companies must register with the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth, or DELEG, in order to conduct extensive business within Michigan. Registering an LLC with the DELEG involves filing a document, called an Articles of Organization, which becomes a public record. To dissolve a Michigan LLC, you must file a document, called a Certificate of Dissolution, to amend the public record about your company. You must also obtain a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Michigan Treasury.

Step 1

Meet the requirements for dissolution. Under Michigan law, an LLC may dissolve under two circumstances: a unanimous vote among the owners of an LLC or the occurrence of an event that you have listed in the LLC’s Articles of Organization or operating agreement.

Step 2

Download the Certificate of Dissolution form from the DELEG website. The DELEG will only accept a Certificate of Dissolution filed on their form.

Ready to start your LLC? Start an LLC Online Now

Step 3

Fill out the Certificate of Dissolution. Provide the name of your LLC and its DELEG identification number. Indicate whether the LLC is being dissolved pursuant to a unanimous vote or the occurrence of an event specified in the LLC’s operating agreement or Articles of Organization. If you wish, provide a date to dissolve your company other than the filing date. Sign and date the Certificate of Dissolution.

Step 4

File the Certificate of Dissolution. As of 2010, the filing fee is $10. If your company has a Michigan Electronic Filing System account, complete a MICH-ELF Cover Sheet and fax your Certificate of Dissolution to 517-636-6437. If your company does not have a Michigan Electronic Filing System account, you must file by mail or in person. If you are filing by mail, you must pay by check made payable to the State of Michigan. If filing in person, you may pay by check or credit card.

Step 5

File a Tax Clearance Request from the Michigan Treasury Department within 60 days of the acceptance of your Certificate of Dissolution. The form for a Tax Clearance Request can be downloaded from the Michigan Treasury Department. Provide both your federal and state tax identification number and the name and address of your business. Indicate the date when your company ceased business operations in Michigan, the date of your last payroll payments and the information about when and where your company was incorporated. Indicate that your company is dissolving, whether or not it is a non-profit and whether it is undergoing a 12-month liquidation. Indicate whether another company is continuing the business operations of your company. Sign and date the Tax Clearance Request, and attach a copy of your company’s final tax returns and proof of payment.

Ready to start your LLC? Start an LLC Online Now
How to File an LLC in Michigan
 

References

Resources

Related articles

How to Undo an LLC

A limited liability company, or LLC, is a popular business structure among small business owners. An LLC is created once an individual submits a document, often called an articles of organization, with a state business licensing agency. The only way to undo the creation of an LLC once the LLC’s articles of organization have been accepted is to file another document, usually called an articles of dissolution, with the state business licensing agency.

How to Pay Taxes for a Limited Liability Corporation in Michigan

As a limited liability company in Michigan, you have tax obligations to the state and the IRS. Tax obligations for LLCs vary, depending on whether you sell or rent goods, or have employees. After registering to pay state taxes and determining the taxes for which your LLC is responsible, your business taxes may be paid online via the Michigan Department of Treasury website or by mail.

How to Add Owners to a Texas LLC

Texas law regulates the formation and management of limited liability companies, or LLCs, registered in Texas. All LLCs that wish to conduct significant business operations in Texas must file a certificate of formation with the Texas Secretary of State, which becomes a public record. However, changes to the ownership structure of an LLC, including the addition of an owner, do not require an amendment to the certificate of formation. However, if the day-to-day management of your company is vested in its owners and the new owner will be exercising management authority, you must reflect this in the company’s public information report made to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

LLCs, Corporations, Patents, Attorney Help

Related articles

How to Dissolve an LLC in California

All businesses that engage in substantial commerce within the state of California must register with the California ...

How to Set Up an LLC in Wisconsin

A limited liability company, or LLC, is a “hybrid” form of business association that combines the flexibility, ...

How to Start an LLC in Michigan

To form a limited liability company (LLC) in Michigan, you must file articles of organization with the Michigan ...

How to Apply for an LLC in Florida

A limited liability company is a type of business structure in which the owners -- called members in an LLC -- are not ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED