Is a Divorce Decree a Court Order?

By Marie Murdock

After receiving your divorce decree from the court, you may wonder if you have to comply with all the terms and conditions of the decree. A divorce decree is signed by a judge and is, therefore, an official court order. While all orders are signed by a judge, not all orders may be referred to as decrees.

Court Orders

While a divorce action is pending, the court may issue several orders such as retraining orders, temporary custody orders and orders to produce documents. These orders are referred to as interlocutory or interim orders that do not fully and finally resolve all issues in the case to finalize the divorce.

Divorce Decree

An order that resolves the issues related to the initial filing in a divorce case and ends the marriage of the parties is often referred to as a “divorce decree.” Divorce decrees are generally final unless an appeal or request for a modification is later filed.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Can Divorce Proceedings in Arizona Be Stop by the Petitioner?

References

Related articles

Am I Still Legally Married After Filing for Divorce in Texas?

Getting a divorce in Texas begins with filing a petition in the county where the parties have lived for at least six months. Filing the petition starts the process but it does not change your marital status. Your divorce is finalized when a judge grants the divorce and signs the divorce decree.

Tennessee Divorce Laws: How Soon After Divorce Can You Remarry?

Sometimes a divorcing spouse is anxious to finish the divorce because he wants to remarry. Technically, Tennessee law has no restrictions on how long you must be divorced to remarry, but you should wait at least 30 days. If your ex-spouse decides to appeal the case during this time period, you won't be divorced after all.

What Is a Final Judgment of Divorce?

The process of dissolving a marriage can involve multiple hearings and court orders. This can make it difficult to know exactly when you and your spouse are officially divorced. In most states, spouses are still considered married until a judge signs a final judgment of divorce and the court clerk enters it into the court record.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day ...

What Is a Pending Divorce?

A divorce goes through many stages, starting from the first serious issues arising between a couple and terminating in ...

How Long Is an Automatic Stay After a Chapter 13 Dismissal?

Filing for Chapter 13 bankruptcy creates a repayment plan that allows you to catch up on debt by making monthly ...

How to Obtain a Divorce Decree From California

A divorce decree, the final order from the court that officially ended the marriage, is needed for various reasons, ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED