Does a Divorce in North Carolina Go by the Number of Years Married for the Wife to Ask for Alimony?

By Heather Frances J.D.

In North Carolina, the length of your marriage strongly influences whether or not the judge will award alimony. Your spouse is more likely to receive alimony if you were married for many years. However, a North Carolina judge will only order alimony if your spouse needs it and you have the ability to pay it.

Ability to Pay

In North Carolina, alimony cannot be awarded unless one spouse has a need for alimony and the other spouse has the ability to pay it. Even if one spouse needs alimony, if the other spouse is not able to pay, the court cannot award it. The amount of alimony, as well as the duration and manner of payment, are in the court’s discretion, but the court must consider all relevant factors before making a decision. This allows the court to consider each case on its own facts, using statutory factors as a guide.

Marital Misconduct

Though North Carolina has no-fault grounds for divorce, fault is relevant during the court’s consideration of alimony factors since one of the factors the court must consider is marital misconduct, and such misconduct may weigh heavily on the court’s decision. Misconduct may include things like infidelity, abandonment and excessive use of drugs or alcohol. Infidelity is especially important since the dependent spouse cannot receive alimony if she had an adulterous relationship, unless her spouse also had an adulterous relationship. If the supporting spouse had an adulterous relationship but the dependent spouse did not, North Carolina law requires the court to award alimony to the dependent spouse.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Other Factors

In addition to marital misconduct, the court must consider other factors, including the earning capacity of each spouse, the duration of the marriage and contributions made by one spouse to the education or career of the other spouse. The two most important factors are the duration of the marriage and the spouses’ incomes. Often, a court will not award alimony if the spouses make roughly equivalent incomes. In North Carolina, there is no rule about how long a couple must be married before alimony is awarded, but spouses in marriages of 10 years or less typically do not receive alimony for longer than half the length of the marriage.

Types of Alimony

If your judge decides to award alimony, he can award different types. Rehabilitative alimony may be awarded if the dependent spouse needs education or training to become self-supporting, and it is the most common type of alimony in North Carolina. Permanent alimony is periodic payments typically awarded for the remainder of the dependent spouse’s life, unless she remarries, begins living with a new partner or resumes marital relations with the supporting spouse, or the supporting spouse dies. Temporary alimony is designed to help the dependent spouse get re-established. If periodic payments are impractical, the court can award alimony in a lump sum rather than periodic payments.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Minnesota Spousal Maintenance Laws


Related articles

ARS 25-319 Regarding Arizona Divorce Laws & Spousal Support

Arizona courts use several factors to determine whether a divorcing spouse qualifies for spousal support and to calculate the amount of the spousal support award. In order to award spousal support, Arizona statute ARS 25-319 requires a court to find that the spouse who seeks spousal maintenance needs it. Then the statute requires the court to determine the amount and duration of the award. The court can award either temporary or permanent alimony. The amount and length of alimony must be fair and just to both parties, without considering any marital misconduct. The court also considers the financial resources and earning potential of each spouse.

Welfare & Alimony in California

To receive welfare in California, applicants must meet strict income requirements, and any income received from alimony must be reported. The court will award alimony, or spousal support as it's known in California, during the divorce process if a spouse needs the financial assistance to transition from married life and become self-sufficient. However, circumstances may change over a period of time, so the recipient spouse must report any changes in alimony to the relevant social services agency, since it may impact her welfare eligibility and benefits.

How Are Alimony Payments Determined?

Alimony is never a sure thing in a divorce. In most states, it comes down to the discretion of a judge. Congress has passed the Uniform Marriage and Divorce Act to address alimony, but it includes suggestions for awarding it, not hard and fast laws. One common guideline is the length of a marriage. Judges most commonly award alimony after long-term marriages and almost never after marriages of just a few years’ duration.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Does a Spouse Receive Alimony When Divorced in Ohio?

Spouses can receive alimony during or after a divorce in Ohio, but it’s not an automatic right. Judges make alimony ...

Alimony Laws in Tennessee

Alimony is a monetary award paid to the financially weaker spouse after a divorce. Tennessee courts can award one of ...

Florida Alimony Requirements

In 2012, Florida legislators debated whether to reform Florida’s alimony laws, but the reform efforts were ...

What Are My Chances of Getting Alimony Indefinitely?

The laws regarding spousal support, or alimony, vary from state to state. However, pursuant to a divorce, typically one ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED