How to Get Free Divorce Papers

By Lisa Magloff

An uncontested divorce is one is which both partners agree on all of the aspects of the divorce, such as the grounds for divorce, settlement arrangements and custody agreements. You may be able to complete an uncontested divorce without an attorney to save on legal fees. To begin an uncontested divorce, one partner needs to fill out the Petition of Divorce and other forms. The first step is to get free copies of these forms.

Step 1

Visit the county clerk's office in the county court building in the county where you live. The clerk can provide you with a divorce packet containing all the papers needed for your divorce.

Step 2

Download a free divorce packet from the website of your local county court if available. You sometimes can also find these forms on the website of your state government or state court system. For example, you can download all California divorce papers from the California Courts website.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 3

Contact your local legal aid society. Most legal aid offices can provide you with information on how to obtain free divorce packets. Some can also supply you with divorce packets. Further, you can download free divorce packets from many state legal aid society websites.

Step 4

Ask your state law library for free divorce packets. Many state law libraries can supply you with divorce packets, or you can download the forms for free from the law library website.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File for Divorce Online With a State Fee Waiver in California

References

Related articles

How to File a Form FL-100 for a California Uncontested Divorce

Form FL-100, Petition — Marriage, is used to start an uncontested divorce in the California courts. A divorce is uncontested if both parties want to divorce and agree on all the terms, such as property division and child custody. At least one of the spouses must have been a legal resident of the state for at least six months prior to filing Form FL-100, and you must also present Form FL-110, the Summons, at the time of filing Form FL-100.

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

How to Divorce When the Wife Is Not Willing

Divorce can often become more stressful if you would like to end your marriage but your spouse does not. However, you can still obtain a divorce even if your wife does not want one. Although many divorce procedures remain the same regardless of whether your wife cooperates, you can try to increase the likelihood of your wife's participation. In addition, before filing for divorce, you should research the divorce procedures, including default options, followed by your own state. A default case would allow you to obtain a divorce on your own terms if your wife fails to respond to your divorce filing in a timely manner.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to File a Motion for Divorce if a Spouse Is Stalling

If you want a divorce, but your spouse is stalling, you can still get a divorce. All 50 states now offer a no-fault ...

How to Divorce an Unwilling Spouse

If you want to get a divorce but your spouse does not, you may be able to dissolve the marriage anyway. A contested ...

How to Obtain a Divorce in North Carolina

If you wish to obtain a divorce in North Carolina, you can hire an attorney to handle the process for you or you can ...

State of Oregon Divorce Decree

In Oregon, a divorce decree — also called a judgment of dissolution of marriage — is the court order that both ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED