How to Domesticate a Divorce in Florida

By Art Smithers

Once you have obtained a final judgment of divorce, you may decide to move to another state. Enforcing a final judgment is difficult enough when you are living in the state where it was issued; the difficulties attendant with enforcement are significantly greater once you move to another jurisdiction. Fortunately, most states, including Florida, allow you to use local courts to enforce a decree from another state. The process is known as domesticating your judgment and requires you to follow a few basic steps.

Step 1

Contact the clerk of court in the county and state where the judgment was rendered and obtain a certified copy. Most clerks require a written request with payment of necessary fees, which are likely to vary from state to state. Upon receipt of your judgment, examine it to ensure it bears the clerk's certification that it is a true and accurate copy of the original.

Step 2

Prepare an affidavit containing the name, mailing address and Social Security number of both parties. If you do not have this information, you may say so in the affidavit. Take your affidavit to a notary public and have it executed. Do not sign the affidavit until you are before the notary.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 3

File your final judgment and affidavit with the clerk of court in the family law division of your local county courthouse. The clerk will record your judgment and affidavit, and send notice of your filing to the opposing party.

Step 4

Pay the filing fee. Contact the clerk in advance to determine the amount of the fee as well as what forms of payment the clerk will accept. At the time of publication, Sarasota County charges approximately $400 to domesticate a foreign divorce judgment, but the filing fees vary from county to county. All clerks of court accept cash or checks, but many refuse to accept credit or debit card payments.

Step 5

Wait 30 days. Domestication is complete once a 30-day waiting period passes.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
State of Oregon Divorce Decree
 

References

Related articles

How to Separate in a Marriage

Divorce isn't for everyone--at least not immediately. For any number of reasons, spouses might want to live separately for a while before taking the final step to officially terminate their marriage. Depending on where you live, there may be more than one way to do this. Some states recognize legal separations, but a few don't, including Texas, Delaware, Florida, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Mississippi and Louisiana. This doesn't mean you can't separate if you live in one of these states. It just means courts in these states will not issue a judgment of separation, so you'll have to create a separation agreement instead.

How to Get a California Divorce Decree

Divorce law is state law; California's divorce law contains distinctive features such as the concept of community property. The ease with which you may obtain a divorce in California depends on several factors including whether you have children, how complex your finances are, and whether your spouse is contesting the divorce. If the divorce is contested, you will almost certainly need to hire an attorney, although California does not require that you do so.

How to Change the Name on a Social Security Card After a Birth Certificate Was Changed

Prior to changing your name on your Social Security card, you must first file all the appropriate paperwork to change your name at the state level. Once your birth certificate reflects your new name, you may then contact the Social Security Administration and proceed with having it placed on your Social Security card.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Motion of Default in a Divorce in Illinois

You may file a motion of default in an Illinois divorce case if your spouse doesn't respond to your divorce petition. ...

Who Collects Child Support Payments in New Jersey?

Whenever the court system gets involved with a matter, there's usually a hierarchy of authority that can become ...

How to Legally Change Your Name in Arizona?

In Arizona it is a fairly simple process to change your name. If you do not like the name you were born with, or you ...

How to Change Your Name if a Marriage Certificate Does Not Have Your Married Name

Most people who change their name when they marry change their name on their marriage license, which makes the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED