What Effect Does a Divorce Have on a Will in Georgia?

By Beverly Bird

Georgia is the only state, as of 2010, to allow a testator, or the person making a will, to disinherit a spouse. This makes the state one of the safest places to get a divorce from the perspective of planning your estate. There is no window of time when a spouse can be granted part of your estate if you die while you are separated or your divorce is in progress but before it is final.

Georgia is the only state, as of 2010, to allow a testator, or the person making a will, to disinherit a spouse. This makes the state one of the safest places to get a divorce from the perspective of planning your estate. There is no window of time when a spouse can be granted part of your estate if you die while you are separated or your divorce is in progress but before it is final.

Elective Share Provision

All other states have elective share provisions in their estate laws that prevent a testator from leaving a spouse out of her will. Spouses have a right to do something called “take against” a will in these states if it doesn’t leave them anything. A spouse can renounce the will in favor of receiving a portion of the deceased’s estate determined by law. The share a spouse can elect to take is up to half the estate in some states. If a divorcing testator dies before receiving a final decree, most states award the surviving spouse this elective share. Georgia has no such provision in its Official Code, so if you die while going through divorce proceedings or while you are separated, your spouse receives nothing more than a year’s support allowance, as long as you have not bequeathed him anything in your will.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Divorce Provision

If your spouse is a beneficiary in your will and you neglect to update your will to reflect a divorce, Georgia’s Code treats your spouse as though she predeceased you. Once your divorce is final, any bequest you made to her reverts to your estate when you die for disbursement to your other beneficiaries.

Remarriage

If you remarry your spouse after a divorce, any provisions you made for her in your will are automatically reinstated. The exception is if you revoked or amended the will after your divorce. In that case, since Georgia allows the disinheritance of a spouse, she does not have a right to any of your estate unless you make a new will to include her.

Limitations of the Law

Wills cannot dictate the terms of Social Security benefits. If you are married for at least 10 years before you divorce, your spouse is entitled to collect survivors’ benefits under your Social Security record no matter what your will says. If he is 60 years of age or older, this does not affect the benefits your other survivors receive.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Does a Divorce Exclude a Spouse From Inheriting Under a Will in Georgia?

References

Related articles

CT Laws on Wills & Estates

When someone dies in Connecticut, the executor -- the person appointed in the will to carry out its terms -- has 30 days to submit the will to the probate court in the county where the deceased lived. The exception is if the deceased’s entire estate is valued at less than $40,000 and includes no real estate that requires transfer of title.

New York State Marital Inheritance Laws

In New York, as elsewhere, marriage gives spouses certain indelible rights when their partner dies. These inheritance laws typically override any estate planning that spouses might make that contradicts the statutes. If you try to disinherit your spouse in New York, it won't work. If you deliberately leave her out of your will, or leave her only a small token amount, New York law will give her a portion of your estate anyway.

Pennsylvania Inheritance Laws for Spouses

Every state but Georgia protects a spouse’s right to inherit when her partner dies. In Pennsylvania, the law does not allow an individual to disinherit his spouse, ensuring she gets a portion of her spouse's estate if he dies without a will. However, a catch exists. Their marriage must be intact and not on the brink of divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

A Last Will & Testament in Illinois

To make a last will and testament in Illinois, you must be at least 18 years of age or be emancipated from your parents ...

Last Will & Testament in a Divorce

Although estate laws vary somewhat from state to state, they generally protect spouses from being completely ...

Does a Will Supersede Spousal Rights?

Generally, a person’s will governs the distribution of his assets when he dies. However, some rules apply to guide this ...

Wills in Maine

Maine’s statutes regarding wills are on par with other states. You must be of sound mind and at least 18 years old to ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED