Estate Laws Without Wills in the State of Tennessee

By Beverly Bird

Tennessee's probate laws are much the same for both intestate estates -- those without a will -- and testate estates, those that do involve wills. Procedural rules are similar, but with intestate estates, statutes control two important aspects of the process. Dying without a will does not avoid probate, but it can make it a bit more complicated.

Appointment of Administrator

In addition to directing how someone wants his property to pass to his beneficiaries, a will also usually names the individual he wants to act as executor to handle probate of his estate. In the absence of a will, someone must step forward to take the job. Under Tennessee law, a surviving spouse has the first right to administer an intestate estate, followed by the decedent's children. If any other person wishes to serve instead, the decedent's spouse and children must waive the right to do so in writing.

Notification of Heirs

After the court has appointed an administrator for the estate, it will issue letters of administration, authorizing that person to manage the details of probate. Tennessee requires that the administrator send copies of this paperwork to all the decedent's known heirs, alerting them that the decedent has died, that he did not leave a will, and that the administrator will be handling probate.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Distribution to Heirs

Just as when someone dies with a will, the administrator of the estate must pay all the decedent's debts, expenses of the estate and taxes before distributing his estate to his heirs. In Tennessee, an administrator must first use the decedent's personal property to satisfy debts, taxes and expenses, liquidating assets if necessary. Liquidation of real property happens only as a last resort. Heirs receive whatever remains in the estate after debts, taxes and expenses are paid.

Order of Succession

Laws of intestate succession tend to be complicated, and Tennessee's are no exception. Intestate succession is a prescribed order of kin standing in line to inherit when a loved one dies without a will. In Tennessee, a surviving spouse inherits first, but her share depends on how many other family members survive the decedent. If the decedent had no children, his surviving spouse receives his entire estate. If he did leave children, his spouse usually gets only a third. The remaining two-thirds distribute to his children and their children, but grandchildren only inherit if their parent is deceased.

Surviving Spouse's Share

In some cases, a surviving spouse might receive more than one-third of the estate, even if the decedent left children. If the children's shares would each be greater than a third if the decedent had not left a spouse, the spouse inherits a child's share instead. For example, if $90,000 remains in the estate after payment of debts and expenses, and if the decedent left one child, a third of the estate would equal $30,000 and the decedent's only child would inherit $60,000. This isn't fair or equitable, so Tennessee law gives the surviving spouse a child's share instead. Two child's shares -- one for the child and one for the spouse -- would equal $45,000 each. The surviving spouse is entitled to a third of the estate or a child's share, whichever is more.

Escheat of Estate

An estate "escheats" when a decedent leaves no kin at all -- it passes to the state. However, this is an extremely rare occurrence in Tennessee, because the state has no limits on intestate succession. Intestate succession can extend to great-grandchildren or even to distant nieces, nephews or cousins. A decedent would have to have no surviving relatives at all before Tennessee would inherit his estate.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Beneficiaries Without a Will in Tennessee
 

References

Related articles

Colorado State Laws on Community Property When a Spouse Dies

When a Colorado spouse dies, his property is distributed by the terms of his will, if he has one; however, a spouse cannot completely disinherit his spouse in a will since Colorado law steps in to limit how much the deceased spouse can give away to someone else. If a spouse dies without a will, his property passes according to state law, which gives a large share to his surviving spouse.

What if the Heir Predeceases the Decedent in Texas?

In Texas, if an heir of a person dies before him, what happens to the heir's share of the estate depends on whether the decedent left a will. Heirs commonly include the decedent's children and spouse. Because a will usually leaves instructions for the shares of predeceased heirs, the will's terms determine where the deceased heir's share goes. If the decedent died intestate, or without a valid will, Texas laws decide who inherits the heir's share.

Probate Laws for Dying Without a Will in Minnesota

Even when people don’t write a will that dictates how they want their assets distributed when they die, most do leave some property that requires legal transfer to their heirs. Probate is necessary to effect the transfers. This is easiest when there is a will, but the process is similar in Minnesota when a decedent dies intestate, or without a will. The major difference is that without a will, the state distributes the decedent's property according to law and under the terms of its Uniform Probate Code.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

North Carolina Laws About Decedents Not Leaving Wills

In North Carolina, as in most states, when you die without a will you are considered “intestate.” When a North ...

How to Divide Property Among Heirs in Mississippi

When a person dies with a valid will, his estate’s executor distributes his property according to the terms of his ...

Who Inherits When Someone Dies?

One of the questions that inevitably arises when someone dies is the question of what will happen to the property she ...

Pennsylvania Inheritance Laws for Spouses

Every state but Georgia protects a spouse’s right to inherit when her partner dies. In Pennsylvania, the law does not ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED